Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


PY 355 : Abnormal Psychology
Taught by Mary Pelton-Cooper

 

PsycINFO
Description: An abstract database of psychological literature from 1805–present published by the American Psychological Association. Types of Sources: Books, book chapters, journals, theses and dissertations, reports, and other secondary publications plus foreign language periodicals written in over 25 languages. Also included are over 20 million cited references from journal articles, books, and book chapters. Updated weekly.

PsycARTICLES
Description: A database of full-text articles in English from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.Date of Coverage: 1985 to the present. Updated daily.

PsycBooks
Description: A collection of electronic books, book chapters, essays, and conferences written in English, and available in PDF full-text. Works deal with psychology and psychiatry, and are published by the American Psychological Association and classic books from other publishers. Includes the 8-volume Encyclopedia of Psychology (2000).
Date of Coverage: 1806 to the present (approximately 1900 records for works prior to 1953). Updated monthly.

Internet Search Engines

Google Scholar (Advance Search) Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books.


APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.  Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.


Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours