Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


PY 491

Early Child Capstone Senior Thesis

Karen L. Suksi

Library Guide

Olson Library

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  It cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles. To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers
.

 

InterLibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the link above to submit a request and for further details.

 

Databases

PsycINFO
Description : An abstract database of psychological literature from 1805–present published by the American Psychological Association. Types of Sources: Books, book chapters, journals, theses and dissertations, reports, and other secondary publications plus foreign language periodicals written in over 25 languages. Also included are over 20 million cited references from journal articles, books, and book chapters. Updated weekly.

PsycARTICLES
Description : A database of full-text articles in English from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Date of Coverage: 1985 to the present. Updated daily.

ERIC   — Contains records for scholarly & trade journal articles, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).

Social Services Abstracts (1980-present)
This database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. 

Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
This is the premier database for sociology and related disciplines. Some of the topics covered include culture and social structure, family and social welfare, and demography.  This database covers a wide range of documents including over 1600 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.

JSTOR   — The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Journals are divided into 47 disciplines including, Psychology  (7 journals) , Education (50 journal titles), Sociology (47 titles), General Science  (8 journals). Coverage: 1878 to "moving wall" of 1-5 years before the most recently published issue.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Google Scholar is also a great tool for finding other articles related to one's you already have. Search for the title of an article you have and click the "Cited by" link to see other articles related to this one.

 

APA Style

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association , 5th ed.  Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

 

Zotero

Zotero is a free Web application developed for the Firefox Internet browser that allows you to quickly format references in a multitude of styles (APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.). Zotero allows you to collect, manage, cite, and share references you've collected for your research.

 

Olson Library E-Reference Shelf

Selected electronic reference sources for Psychology

 

Need Further Assistance?

You can contact SaraJane Tompkins by email or by phone at 227-2431.

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 

 

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours