Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


PY 505: Advanced Research Methods and Experimental Design

Library Resource Guide


Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.


Specialized/Focused Resources

JSTOR   - The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Journals are divided into 47 disciplines including, Psychology  (7 journals) , Education (50 journal titles), Sociology (47 titles), General Science  (8 journals). Coverage: 1878 to "moving wall" of 1-5 years before the most recently published issue.

PsycINFO
Description : An abstract database of psychological literature from 1805-present published by the American Psychological Association. Types of Sources: Books, book chapters, journals, theses and dissertations, reports, and other secondary publications plus foreign language periodicals written in over 25 languages. Also included are over 20 million cited references from journal articles, books, and book chapters. Updated weekly.

PsycARTICLES
Description : A database of full-text articles in English from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Date of Coverage: 1985 to the present. Updated daily.

ERIC   - Contains records for scholarly & trade journal articles, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).

Electronic Reference Sources - Psychology These sources collected by Olson Librarians for easy access to reference sources in and out of the library collection.

Mental measurements yearbook Mental Measurements Yearbook access to full text of reviews of over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.  All full text entries include - descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing), edited review(s). Electronic coverage Volume 9 (1985) to present. Print coverage in Olson Library coverage Volume 1 -16 (2005)

 

APA Style


APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association , 5th ed.  Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

Digital Object Identifier help sources

If DOI does not appear on either article or in database: Click here to search Cross/Ref DOI Lookup using article author/title

DOI may be verified/searched by entering number in:
Cross/Ref DOI Resolver

 

 

Need Further Assistance?

You can contact SaraJane Tompkins by email or by phone at 227-2431.

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2250.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours