Early Childhood Research Resources available through NMU Olson Library
Drs. Fran Quinnell, Maya Sen, & Karen Suksi
Library Guide developed by Prof. Mike Strahan
Assistance available through the Library Reference Desk via chat using
AIM ( olsonlib ), Yahoo ( olsonlib ), or MSN Messenger ( info@nmu.edu )
Confidentiality cannot be assured
Also available via walk-in, phone (227-2294), or e-mail
Look for New Brief How-to Videos (Flash format, dial-up friendly)
Overview video of this Early Childhood Library Guide
Click here for library maps. Some of the key call number ranges include:
BF 712 - 724 Developmental Psychology including Child Psychology
HQ 767 - 792 Child Development
LB 1139 - 1140 Early Childhood Education, Preschool Education, Nursery Schools
LC 3950 - 4806 Exceptional Children & Youth (Special Education)
Sources for Locating Books & Videos Library Catalog How-to Videos
Books synthesize and distill large bodies of knowledge on a given topic. They are a great starting point for getting a layout of the field, identifying key concepts, and obtaining references to additional resources.
Since the library catalog is very limited in terms of the amount of information you can obtain about books in the collection, it is often advantageous to browse the collection in a given area. If you visit the library, browse the table of contents and the index of the books themselves. Simply note the call numbers of relevant books you find in your searches.
PsycBooks | (Uses QuikBib)
A collection of over 1,500 electronic books published by the American Psychological Association available in PDF full-text. Includes the 8-volume Encyclopedia of Psychology (2000), and 6-volume Encyclopedia of Mental Health.
Other online reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.)
Child Development (Encyclopedia) (2002) Edited by Neil J. Salkind.
Learning and Memory (Encyclopedia) (2003) 2nd ed. Edited by John H. Byrne
*NEW* STAT!Ref (online Nursing/Medical Books) including dictionaries, DSM-IV-TR, and newborn/pediatrics.
When full-text/PDF link is not visible, click on to locate material
PsycINFO How-to Videos | (Uses QuikBib)
An abstract database of psychological literature published 1805–present. Indexes books, journals, theses and dissertations, reports, other secondary publications, and authoritative web pages & online resources. Also includes author profiles from COS Scholar Universe.
Limit to early childhood content by selecting Age (scroll box).
New ERIC (same system as PsycINFO) | (Uses QuikBib)
An abstract database of education literature published 1966–present. Primary database for
scholarly/research material & major trade journal articles. Indexes and provides some full-text ERIC Documents (reports/documents, lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and conference papers), and authoritative web pages & online resources. Also includes author profiles from COS Scholar Universe.
Limit to early childhood content by selecting Education Level (scroll box).
| Early Childhood terms (copy & paste into databases search listed below) |
| prekindergarten or preschool or "early childhood" or kindergarten or "young children" or "child development" |
Academic OneFile
Index to articles in over 10,000 scholarly journals and some general periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 journal titles. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.
Health Reference Center Academic
Indexes over 900 scholarly and professional journals (over 700 online full-text) in allied health, nursing, and medicine.
SocAbs (Sociology) | (Uses QuikBib)
Social Services Abstracts | (Uses QuikBib)
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Google Scholar is also a great tool for finding other articles related to one's you already have. Search for the title of an article you have and click the "Cited by" link to see other articles related to this one.
Journal Publisher Web Sites
The Olson Library subscribes to a number of electronic journals directly from publishers. While these sites contain journals from all fields of study, the following publisher sites contain a variety of journals from the fields of psychology and education. Browse by individual journal titles or search across all journals in the collection. Note that journal subscription coverage varies; the library does not subscribe to all years or every journal indexed on publisher web sites.
Blackwell-Synergy
Sage Journals Online
ScienceDirect Social & Behavioral Sciences
Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries
Interlibrary Loan How-to Videos
Allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library. Materials such as books and periodical articles can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to receive requested materials is 7-10 days and you will be notified by email when your items arrive. Consult the above link for further details and to submit a request.
Popular vs. Scholarly Periodicals
Cyberlab: Journal Articles
Research Article vs. Review Article
APA Style
Guide with New 7/07 Electronic Formats How-to Videos
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed., and
the 2007 APA Style Guide to Electronic References. Consult the Manual and 2007 Guide in the Reference Collection, 3rd floor stacks, and Reserve (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.
APA - Citing Tables & Figures
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
A site from Cornell University with useful tips and examples of an annotated bibliography.
Evaluating Internet Resources
Librarian's Index to the Internet — Web sites evaluated by California librarians INFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
USAGov — Federal & State government web sites search engine
Locating & Evaluating Professional Associations & Their Web Sites
Google Advanced Search - Limit searches to language, format, update, domain (.org, .edu), etc.
**New** Locating information about professional associations (credible/reliable source)
1. Access Business Insights: Essentials
2. Click on Advanced Search
3. Change Content Area to Associations
4. Enter topic and search in "Association Name" or "Full Text" to retrieve list.
|