Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Library Resource Guide
for Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences


For help with any of these resources, contact Kevin McDonough, liaison to the SLHS Department, through the IM window on the right, email (kmcdonou@nmu.edu), or phone (906-227-2118).

Books

Library Catalog
Contains the books, government documents, and audio-visual materials in Olson Library and three other libraries in the U.P. Books are a great place to get an overview on a subject and help narrow your topic to an answerable question. Also, many books provide links into the journal literature through the inclusion of one or more reference lists.

MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders
This 2004 encyclopedia, although not particularly current, provides a broad overview on the issues and disorders relevant to speech, language, and hearing sciences. A good source for an overview on a topic. ONLY ONE USER AT A TIME.

Journal Articles

PubMed — The premier database for the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.  MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's.

PsycInfo — This database provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Because PsycInfo provides both the medical and social science perspectives on various communication disorders and treatments, this database will prove to be very valuable. Coverage is from 1867 to present.

ERIC — This is the premier database for education literature and includes information on languages and linguistics and reading and communication skills. Topics within communication disorders that impact education--K-12 and higher--will be covered. Coverage is from 1966 to present.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library contains the best available information about healthcare interventions. This product provides the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.

Google Scholar
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides unique features, such as relevance ranking of your results, the ability to find "Related Articles", and the opportunity to see other papers that have cited a specific paper.


Citing Articles
APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours