Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


SN 312 : Introduction to Spanish America

Library Resource Guide

Library Services

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) or (info@nmu.edu)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

Please register with the ILLiad system before submitting your first ILL request.
(Wildcat Express or LDES card required.)


Before submitting any request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., Humanities Index), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in popup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials, and at least 3 weeks to receive book/other materials; request default is 30 days.
General Information


Submit requests for material found in references, or check status of requests.

 

General Resources

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

Evaluating Internet Sources A library resource guide provided by Olson Library.

Reference materials

Tenenbaum, Barbara A. Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. (New York: Scribner's Sons, c1996) REF F1406 .E53 1996

Kapiszewski, Diana. Encyclopedia of Latin American politics. (Westport, Conn.: Oryx Press, 2002) REF F1410 .E56 2002

Covington, Paula H. et al. Latin America and the Caribbean. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1992) REF F1408 .L3225 1992

Locating library holdings of journals, government documents, books, theses, etc.

Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings - Searchable list of library-subscribed online journals with database & publisher links. Search on exact beginning of journal title, words contained in journal title, or by subject area. NOTE: When searching for journal titles, use this resource before searching the library catalog.

Search the Library Catalog by Journal Title/Author/Title/Subject or Keyword to find records for books, journal titles, government documents, theses, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries. (Note:  Does not contain articles which appear in journals—see Searching/Locating Article Records below.) You can limit your search to only materials held by NMU.

Worldwide, use WorldCat

 

Searching/Locating Article Records & Online Materials Through Online Databases

NOTES:Researchers MUST HAVE their NMU computer/e-mail ID & password to access most of the databases listed below when connecting via another Internet Provider (e.g., school district, up.net, Charter, etc.). Click here to retrieve your information.  NMU students may connect directly to the Internet via MERIT at no cost to them (determine your local MERIT phone number).

** Important ** In order to view and download online PDF articles retrieved through FirstSearch, researchers must have Adobe Reader version 6.0 or later installed. Already installed on NMU laptops latest image. Download from NMU or Adobe.

Please turn off popup blockers before use.
Look for the new link in database records to check availability of online articles.

SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts) — Indexes scholarly/professional journals, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, conference papers, and web sites. Covers material published
1952-present

ABI/INFORM Global — Contains records from nearly 2,000 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals.  Over 50% online full-text/full-image. Indexes some nursing, hospital, health management, and medical records journals. Covers articles published 1971-present.

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Access World News
Provides full text coverage of over 600 U.S. and 500 international newspapers, wire services, and news agencies. Browseable by date and broken down further into sections (business, editorial, etc.) or searchable by keywords, including individual papers or entire regions (states, countries, continents). Most International sources start in the late 1990s.

 

Historical and Cultural Information Sources

Library Catalog
Search the library catalog by individual topic, geographical area or country, or events. You can limit pre-searching and maintain the limit, to limit items found to just the NMU library.

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
A directory of websites devoted to Latin American society and culture. Topics include economics, education, government, technology, recreation, history, and development. The searchable directory can be browsed by individual country or region (Latin America, Caribbean, Central America). Sites are in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. LANIC is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Culture at the University of Texas at Austin.

LatinArt.com
An online journal of latin art and culture featuring articles, profiles of artists, exhibits, etc. Includes a directory of institutions, museums, etc that feature Latin American art. While registration is required the site is free.

Biographical Information Sources

Contemporary Authors (Gale)
Reference Collection: PN 771 .C65
Contains short biographical essays on thousands of writers in this 200 volume (and growing) set.  Also gives a comprehensive listing of writings as well as a bibliography of biographical and critical sources for each author.  Use the Literary Index or the paper index found in the reference collection to locate an author in this set.

Library Catalog
When searching for biographical information in the library catalog, be sure to search from the title/author/subject search screen.  Also, select the Library of Congress Subject Heading search button and enter the authors last name first (ex. Erdrich, Louise).

Biography Reference Bank (1984-present)
Indexes Collection: AP 2 .B5 (1946-1983)
An index to biographical information found in over 2,700 periodicals and 1,800 books.  Use the printed indexes for information published before 1984.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
An index to more than 13 million biographical sketches found in hundreds of standard reference sources.  Since Olson Library does not own all of the sources, consult the library catalog to determine if we have a particular reference title.

 

Need Further Assistance?

You can also contact the Reference Desk through the live chat service or by phone at 227-2294.

You can contact Krista E Clumpner by email or by phone at 227-1205.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours