Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


SN 429 : Spanish American Literature Since 1900

Library Resource Guide

 

Locating Books, DVDs, and Government Documents

Library Catalog
Used primarily to locate the books, DVDs, and government documents the library owns. Keep in mind that books tend to give a broad understanding of a topic and are better sources when trying to find the history of a topic.

Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns. Use OneSearch or one of the databases listed below for locating articles.

MelCat, the Michigan Electronic Library Catalog, allows you to search public and academic libraries throughout the State of Michigan and request books and media. Items usually arrive in about a week. This resource is provided by the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org). You will be notified by email when your items arrive.

InterLibrary Loan also allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson LIbrary. Books, periodical articles,and other sources can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.


Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles - General/All Subjects

Academic OneFile
A database of more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals from all fields of study. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s.


Humanities (Film, Literature, History, Art, Music, etc.)

Artemis Literary Sources (form. Literature Resource Center) Provides access to recognized author collections from Gale Publishers: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with hundreds of journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. Also included is a literary-historical timeline with over 6,700 events to help place literature in its historical and social context, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring more than 10,000 descriptive entries on literary figures, works, and terms.  1991 to present.

MLA International Bibliography Journals, books, and other resources in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Also includes materials on film studies. 1926 to present.

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
A directory of websites devoted to Latin American society and culture. Topics include economics, education, government, technology, recreation, history, and development. The searchable directory can be browsed by individual country or region (Latin America, Caribbean, Central America). Sites are in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. LANIC is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Culture at the University of Texas at Austin.

LatinArt.com
An online journal of latin art and culture featuring articles, profiles of artists, exhibits, etc. Includes a directory of institutions, museums, etc that feature Latin American art. While registration is required the site is free.

 


Evaluating Information Found on the Web

Excellent information can be found on the open web; unfortunately, it's all too easy to find erroneous or biased information as well. Use our Evaluating Internet Sources: A Library Resource Guide to help you tell the difference.


Style Guides

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.

Zotero
Zotero is a free extension to Google Chrome & Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the plugin/extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides installation & customization guides & videos for Zotero as well.

Microsoft Word
You can also store and format citations in Microsoft Word. Click here for instructions.


Need further assistance? Stop by the Olson Library Public Services Desk for assistance, or contact Krista E. Clumpner.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours