Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


SO/SW 498: Domestic Violence

Library Resource Guide

Are you a Distance Student? Distance education students are those students registered for credit courses who have all of their classes at off-campus sites AND who are not residents of Marquette or the surrounding areas. Students living within a thirty-five (35) mile radius of Marquette are considered to be within the Marquette area.  Exceptions will be considered for students who are not residents of the Marquette area (as defined previously) AND who are enrolled in classes which meet on campus eight (8) times or fewer per semester. If so, different rules apply to you: please register here first.

Selected Print and Online Reference Sources

Reference sources offer convenient access to a wide range of information. Everything from statistical sources to specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries can be found in the reference collection. The following is a small sample of relevant resources for social workers. Browse the collection in these call number ranges or check at the Reference Desk to locate additional sources.

The Social Work Dictionary
Reference HV 12 .B37

Encyclopedia of Social Work (3 vols.)
Reference HV 35 .S6

Social Workers Desk Reference
Reference HV 40 .S6464

Assessment of Partner Violence: A Handbook for Researchers and Practitioners.
Ebook available to NMU students. The direct link might not work; if it doesn't, copy and paste the title into OneSearch.

Oxford Reference Online
This large collection of full-text reference resources covers many subjects.

Additional reference sources on this topic can be found at the library's Electronic Reference Sources page.


Library of Congress Subject Headings

Using the terms below in NMU’s library catalog (or any library catalog) as a subject in your search can narrow down your search to pertinent publications on this topic:

Family Violence, Domestic Violence, Spouse Abuse, Child Abuse, Conjugal Violence, Husband Abuse, Wife Abuse, Abused Husbands, Abused Wives, Abused Parents, Sibling Abuse.

Two additional library catalogs are MelCat (a searchable catalog for many libraries in Michigan) and WorldCat (for the rest of the U.S. and the world). Your options are greatly increased for finding more resources (especially with WorldCat), but plan ahead: these books must be interlibrary loaned from the other locations and this could take 3-10 days on average.


Library Resources--Articles and Books

If you would rather search specific databases individually, try these:

Social Services Abstracts (1980-present)
This database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
The premier database for sociology and related disciplines. Some of the topics covered include culture and social structure, family and social welfare, and demography.  This database covers a wide range of documents including over 1800 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.

PsycINFO (1887-present)
This is the premier database in the field of psychology. Contains articles relevant to social work.  Covers a wide variety of literature including journals articles, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology & related fields.  To limit your search to only journal articles, select “journal article” from the Limit Document Type drop-down menu.

ERIC (1965-present)
This education database contains not only a great deal of information for the Social Worker regarding children, but on Family Violence as well. Periodical articles, technical and research reports, and conference reports are among the sources indexed.

Medline—2 ways to get there:
Via FirstSearch (Mid 1960s-present)
Index to periodical articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Medline via FirstSearch allows you to restrict your search to journals held in our library and links to full text articles in other FirstSearch databases.

Via PubMed (Mid 1960s-present)
Index to periodical articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Medline via PubMed is through the National Library of Medicine and includes features not available via the FirstSearch version: selected words in journal abstracts are linked to online scholarly book entries, thus assisting readers with confusing terminology; and each citation in PubMed has a link that will retrieve other related citations. Links to full-text articles, but access is limited to titles subscribed to by the library.

NCJRS Abstracts (1970-present)
National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Administered by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Index to law enforcement and criminal justice material including corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime. Includes federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. This resource is not searched in OneSearch.

NMU's list of databaess by subject also includes newspapers and general databases that cover just about any subject.


Additional Government Resources

Domestic Violence Information from Medline Plus
From the National Library of Medicine, Medline Plus is a large collection of online resources. Policies, issues, definitions, as well as current news stories are some of the information to be found here. Much more than Domestic Violence is covered here: this is a very good resource.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
“The lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people at home and abroad, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships.” Search for and browse their online publications, their website, or jump to their A-Z listing of health topics. Two resources from this agency: Intimate Partner Violence feature and Violence Prevention.

Department of Health and Human Services (DSHS)
This agency, which is the "United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services," produces and links to a great deal of information on many topics. You can use the “Families & Children” or the “Reference Collections” links to find information on domestic violence, or use the search function available on the website. Within the DSHS is the Administration for Children and Families.

Healthfinder.gov
Another link to links—search for domestic violence on this website or use their Health A-Z list.

Science.gov: Health Care
This resource is surprisingly full of resources. Health care is one of the broad collections in it, but you can search for specific subjects and resources.


APA Style

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.


Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294. The librarian responsible for Social Science/Social Work can also help. Contact Bruce Sarjeant (bsarjean@nmu.edu), 227-1580.

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours