Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


SP300 - Rhetorical Theory
Library Resource Guide


Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.

CQ Researcher
Available online. Also available in-print from 1991-2003 in the bound Periodicals Collection. Call number: H 35 .E352. A weekly publication covering the critical events and controversial subjects of the day.  Each issue offers an in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic.  A good source for selecting a topic since you can browse the issues by topic. The index to the collection can be viewed by unlimited simultaneous users.

Congressional Digest
Call number: JK 1 .C65; recent issues in Current Periodicals, previous years in bound Periodicals Collection
Monthly publication covering controversies in Congress, with pro and con positions.  A cumulative index covering 1981-present is available in the most recent bound issue.


Journal and Magazine Articles

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

JSTOR
Full text access to many scholarly journals covering a broad range of subjects and disciplines including classical study, philosophy, education, language and literature.


Newspapers

Newsbank NewsFile Collection
Selective full-text articles out of 450 newspapers from across the country.   Coverage begins with 1991.

InfoTrac Custom 150 Full Text Newspapers
Full text versions of 150 national and international newspapers. Includes the New York Times, the Washington Post, and other national papers.


Internet Resources

Public Agenda Online
Public Agenda is a nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization. Overviews, facts and figures, perspectives, as well as links to relevant sources on 20 common public policy issues can be found at this site.

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a materials in both paper and online formats, including full text articles, according to Modern Language Association style.

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats, according to the American Psychological Association Style.

Chicago Style Guide
Examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats, according to the Chicago Manual of Style (15th ed.). A paper copy of the manual is available in Reference at Ref. Z 253 .U69 2003.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours