Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


SP310 - Communication Theory

Library Resource Guide

Library Assistance

Stop by the Public Services Desk for further assistance with any of these sources. 
You can also contact the Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.
You may also contact Krista E. Clumpner for assistance.


 

Evaluating Internet Resources, & Evaluative Web Search Engines

Evaluating Internet Information - Provided by Olson Library

IPL2 (Formerly the Librarian's Index to the Internet)

INFOMINE - Scholarly Internet Resources

USAGov - Federal & State web sites search engine

Internet Resources

Public Agenda Online
Public Agenda is a nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization. Overviews, facts and figures, perspectives, as well as links to relevant sources on 20 common public policy issues can be found at this site.

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats, according to the American Psychological Association Style. Style Guides define how you do the citations and works cited for your paper. Some instructors may also have you use the formatting guidelines (margins, line spacing, etc.) that are given in the Style Guide, as well. TO SAVE YOURSELF TIME AND AGGRAVATION, ALWAYS FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS IN THE STYLE GUIDE CHOSEN BY YOUR PROFESSOR.


Other credible sources

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog. For this course you may want to use the terms communication, communication surveys, intercultural communication, non-verbal communication, or mass media.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  See Journal and Magazine Articles below for locating articles.

E-Reference Shelf Subject Listing
This is a listing of electronic reference materials Olson Library subscribes to arranged by subject matter. Choose Communication Studies to get a listing of materials that may be relevant to this course.

CQ Researcher
Available online. Also available in-print from 1991-2003 in the bound Periodicals Collection. Call number: H 35 .E352. A weekly publication covering the critical events and controversial subjects of the day.  Each issue offers an in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic.  A good source for selecting a topic since you can browse the issues by topic. The index to the collection can be viewed by unlimited simultaneous users.

Congressional Digest
Call number: JK 1 .C65; recent issues in Current Periodicals, previous years in bound Periodicals Collection
Monthly publication covering controversies in Congress, with pro and con positions.  A cumulative index covering 1981-present is available in the most recent bound issue.


Journal and Magazine Articles
Look for the link in records to check availability of online articles.

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.


Newspapers

Access World News
Full text coverage of over 600 U.S. and 500 international newspapers, wire services, and news agencies. Dates of coverage varies; primarily 1990’s to present.


Plagiarism

Northern Michigan University Student Handbook: "No students shall submit as their own to an instructor any work which contains ideas or materials taken from another without full acknowledgement of the author and the source. "

Plagiarism tutorial

Indiana University Plagiarism pamphlet

 


Interlibrary Loan (ILL) — Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

If you are searching for books or DVDs not held by Olson Library, please search & request through MelCat (You can not request journal articles this way)

Before submitting request, you must verify through the NMU library catalog and Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., General OneFile), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in popup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials; request default is 30 days.
General Information & link to registration
.

 





Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours