Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat


SW 100: Exploring Social Work
Professor Patricia Cianciolo

Library Resource Guide

Sources for Locating Journal Articles

Listing of electronic journals available through NMU pertaining to Social Welfare & Social Work (scroll down to the Social Welfare & Social Work section).

Social Services Abstracts (1979-present)
This database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Limit by date range and to journal articles.

Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
This is the premier database for sociology and related disciplines. Some of the topics covered include culture and social structure, family and social welfare, and demography.  This database covers a wide range of documents including over 1800 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.

PsycINFO (1806-present)
This is the premier database in the field of psychology. Contains articles relevant to social work.  Covers a wide variety of literature including journals articles, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology & related fields.

ERIC (1965-present)
This education database contains a great deal of information for the Social Worker regarding children. Periodical articles, technical and research reports, and conference reports are among the sources indexed.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed articles. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection.

Library Catalog

Library Catalog
Use the library catalog to see if the library owns a particular journal or to find books in the Olson Library collection.

Selected Reference Sources

Reference sources offer convenient access to a wide range of information. Everything from statistical sources to specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries can be found in these sources. The following is a small sample of relevant resources for sociology and social work. Browse the collection in these call number ranges or stop by the Reference Desk to locate additional sources.

Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care

Encyclopedia of Social Work (4 volumes)
(LRC 3rd floor) HV 35 .S6

Social Workers Desk Reference
A vital tool for practitioners and students preparing for a social work career. Each of the 146 chapters provides practice guidelines and treatment plans.
(LRC 3rd floor) HV 40 .S6464

Encyclopedia of Sociology (5 volumes)

Electronic reference sources for Sociology and Social Work

Library Guides

Popular vs. Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Periodicals
A list of criteria to use when determining the differences between popular and scholarly periodicals. See also the accompanying powerpoint presentation and the example scholarly article.

How Scholary Articles Are Different (compared to magazine and other popular articles).

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site. Reference Collection: BF 76.7 P83.
NMU has also developed an APA style tips checklist.

Need Further Assistance?

If you need help with any of these resources you can ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294 or live chat) or contact librarians Bruce Sarjeant (227-1580), or Mike Burgmeier (live chat, 227-2187).

Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
For exceptions and full year hours