Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


SW 100: Exploring Social Work and
SO 101: Introduction to Sociology


Library Resource Guide
prepared by Bruce Sarjeant

Are you a Distance Student? Distance education students are those students registered for credit courses who have all of their classes at off-campus sites AND who are not residents of Marquette or the surrounding areas. Students living within a thirty-five (35) mile radius of Marquette are considered to be within the Marquette area. Exceptions will be considered for students who are not residents of the Marquette area (as defined previously) AND who are enrolled in classes which meet on campus eight (8) times or fewer per semester. If so, different rules apply to you: please register here first.

Off campus and using either the NMUCLC network OR a non-NMU Internet Service Provider? You will also need to have the Cisco VPN Client (if it is not already there) installed if you continue to be prompted for your username and password when you try and access a database. (warning: will not work with VISTA!!) Mac users, on the other hand, need the one for Macs. WiMax access does not require the VPN.

Selected Reference Sources
Reference sources offer convenient access to a wide range of information. Everything from statistical sources to specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries can be found in the reference collection. The following is a small sample of relevant resources for sociology and social work. Browse the collection in these call number ranges or check at the Reference Desk to locate additional sources.

The Social Work Dictionary
Reference HV 12 .B37

Encyclopedia of Social Work (3 voumes)
Reference HV 35 .S6

Social Workers Desk Reference
Reference HV 40 .S6464

An Author's Guide to Social Work Journals
Reference HV 85 .M46

Social Work Almanac
Reference HV 90 .G53

Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia.
Reference LC189.95 .E38 2002

Encyclopedia of Sociology (5 volumes)
Reference HM425 .E5 2000

Electronic reference sources for Sociology and Social Work available through NMU.


Library Resources--Journal Articles and Books

 

NMU subscribes to a number of databases covering all disciplines, including more within the Sociology/Social Work field, if you would rather search each database individually.

Popular vs. Scholarly (or peer-reviewed): what's the difference?

Social Services Abstracts (1979-present)
This database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Limit by date range and to journal articles.

Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
This is the premier database for sociology and related disciplines. Some of the topics covered include culture and social structure, family and social welfare, and demography.  This database covers a wide range of documents including over 1800 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.

PsycINFO (1806-present)
This is the premier database in the field of psychology. Contains articles relevant to social work.  Covers a wide variety of literature including journals articles, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology & related fields.

ERIC (1965-present)
This education database contains a great deal of information for the Social Worker regarding children. Periodical articles, technical and research reports, and conference reports are among the sources indexed.

Is your journal peer-reviewed? If it doesn't appear to indicate this in the record, check using this database.


Government Resources
The federal government and state governments publish a wide variety of information in the social services/social work fields and their studies and reports cover any topic. Government documents found in Olson Library, both state and federal, are included in the library's online catalog.  In addition, the library provides access to government agency websites as well as government search engines from its Government Documents page.

Two relevant government agencies include:

United States Department of Health and Human Services

National Institutes of Health

Most government agencies include a search function on their home page to query the site. These are especially helpful when multiple agencies exist under one main agency as in the case of Health and Human Services. Also look for lists of publications or links to reference items.


Internet Search Engines & Portals
Since numerous government publications are available on the Internet, search engines are a great way to locate these documents as well as identify some of the relevant agencies. The following search engines are especially useful when searching for government documents.

USAGov
The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal. Searches across federal, state, and tribal government web sites. Information is also organized into topics and agencies.

Three of the better collections of Internet links dealing with social work include:

Michigan Department of Community Health: Social Work
Information about the Michigan Board of Social Work, Licensing Information, and links to services within the MDCH covering families, children, mental health, etc.

Social Sciences Virtual Library
Online index of resources dealing with the Social Sciences.

Social Welfare links from Intute
A nice collection of links in the Social Sciences from Britain. Website no longer updated (July, 2011).

Evaluating Internet Resources: yes, you've been surfing for years now, but do you ask yourself these questions when you land on a website?


Groups & Organizations: Just a few to get you started

Everyday Sociology blog. A website created by Dr. Karen Sternheimer, sociology professor teaching at the University of Southern California.

Social Work within the Veterans Administration and WarriorCare.

Social Work, Alcohol and Drugs (a resource from the UK)

Social Work Policy Institute. Use their search feature to find resources on your topic.

National Association of Social Workers. Similar to the Institute above, you can find resources on their website. Their Michigan chapter. Also the Michigan Social Worker Continuing Education Collaborative.

For schools: School Social Work Association of America, and the American Council for School Social Work.

Clinical Social Work Association and the Center for Clinial Social Work.

List of organizations and associations from the University of Washington as well as a Facebook presence for the Network of Professional Social Workers.


APA Style

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual for further information or types of sources not listed here. Print copies are found in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83).


Need Further Assistance?
Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294. You may also contact Bruce Sarjeant, Reference Librarian, at 227-1580.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours