About the Library
Social Services Abstracts (1979-present)
This database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Limit by date range and to journal articles.
Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
This is the premier database for sociology and related disciplines. Some of the topics covered include culture and social structure, family and social welfare, and demography. This database covers a wide range of documents including over 1800 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
This is the premier database in the field of psychology. Contains articles relevant to social work. Covers a wide variety of literature including journals articles, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology & related fields.
This education database contains a great deal of information for the Social Worker regarding children. Periodical articles, technical and research reports, and conference reports are among the sources indexed.
Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed articles. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection.
Use the library catalog to see if the library owns a particular journal or to find books in the Olson Library collection..
Reference sources offer convenient access to a wide range of information. Everything from statistical sources to specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries can be found in the reference collection. The following is a small sample of relevant resources for sociology and social work. Browse the collection in these call number ranges or check at the Reference Desk to locate additional sources.
The Social Work Dictionary
Reference HV 12 .B37
Encyclopedia of Social Work (3 volumes)
Reference HV 35 .S6
Social Workers Desk Reference
Reference HV 40 .S6464
An Author's Guide to Social Work Journals
Reference HV 85 .M46
APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site. Reference Collection: BF 76.7 P83.