Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


SW 474 - Integrative Seminar II

The Basics: Where & How Social Work Researchers
Locate Scholarly/Professional Information via the Internet

NOTE: SEE ALSO Social Work: After Graduation Freely-accessible Resources

Olson Library reference assistance. Give us a call 227-2294 or drop us a line (if that link doesn't work).

APA Style Reference Formats Guide includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper
and online formats. Contunially updated.

Library Distance Education Services. Students must meet specified eligibility criteria.

Library Catalog contains records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries.  Initial search is in NMU's holdings. (Note:  Does not contain articles which appear in journals--see Searching/Locating Article Records below).

Olson Library Map

WorldCat. Contains records for books, theses/dissertations, journal titles, government documents,etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by libraries worldwide.

Thesis and Dissertations The library's webpage pointing you in the direction of these resources.


Oxford Reference Online Premium (library subscription) a collection of full text illustrated encyclopedias, dictionaries, and works from the Oxford Companion series.  Fully searchable and printable.


Searching/Locating Article Records & Online Materials Through Databases
If NMU is not your internet provider (or if you are using the NMUCLC network), you will also need to have the Cisco VPN Client installed and running if you continue to be prompted for username and password when you try and access a database (warning: this will not work with VISTA!!). Mac users, on the other hand, need that version of the Cisco VPN Client . WiMax access does not require the VPN.
Brief video on the VPN client (1:45).

Look for the link in records to check availability of online articles: this makes all databases full-text.

NMU's OneSearch: Conduct a simultaneous search across nearly all databases we subscribe to, including the library catalog, for resources. It is a broad search; a lot will be returned, or, search specific databases individually:

Social Work

Social Services Abstracts — The database abstracts and indexes over 1,400 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, web sites, and citations to book reviews.

SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts)  — Contains records for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses, dissertations, conference papers, and web sites. Includes core/major Social Work journals.

Social Sciences


PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts) — Contains records for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses, dissertations, and conference papers.

PsycARTICLES (Psychology) — Contains records for ONLINE PDF scholarly articles from 72 Psychology journals published 1987-present.

ERIC  — Contains records for scholarly journal articles (some online full-text) and ERIC Documents (many online full-text reports/documents, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).

Criminal Justice & Law

NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) — Searchable abstracts contains records for scholarly & trade journal articles, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses, dissertations, and conference papers. 
Note: Limit search to articles by combining search terms with the phrase
"journal article"
entered in the General Search box.

NCJRS Virtual Library full-text publications is the free version. Not nearly robust as the version above (no full text linking)

LegalTrac  — Contains records for scholarly and trade/professional law journals & legal resources.

WestLaw Campus Comprehensive full-text law resource.  It covers both federal and all state laws, published court decisions, online law encyclopedias and digests, etc. 

Medicine & Health


Health & Wellness Resource Center (+ alternative health)
    — Integrated portal offering a variety of types of literature covering medicine, consumer health, nursing, wellness, and alternative therapies. Full-text/image articles, online illustrated encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, drug & herb finder, web sites, and health assessment tools are provided.  Contains records for 700+ periodicals plus hundreds of other publications. 


CINAHL Plus — Contains records from over 924 scholarly & professional journals, plus hundreds of books, audiovisuals, pamphlets, software, dissertations, and research instruments.

MEDLINE — Contains records from over 9,500 scholarly & professional journals. Select specific "Record Type Phrase" to restrict search to formerly separate NLM databases (Bioethics, Dentistry, Health Administration, etc.)  Also recommend changing "Language Phrase" to English.


Business

ABI/INFORM Global  Contains records from nearly 2,000 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals.  Over 50% online full-text/full-image.  

General Business File ASAP Contains records from over 2,700 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals, newspapers, and wire services.  Over 58% online full-text/full-image. 

General/All Subjects

General OneFile — Contains records from over 9,000 periodicals; over 4,300 online full-text. 

Google Scholar — An interesting multidisciplinary search tool. Works a bit differently from the above databases.


e-books:  EBSCO eBook Collection (general & scholarly)  Books24x7 (illustrated computer books)


Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library
Note:
Before submitting request, verify through the NMU library catalog that we do not own book/video/etc., or subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats.

Interlibrary Loan — General Information


Government Information
The federal government and state governments publish a wide variety of information in the social services/social work fields. Government documents found in Olson Library, both state and federal, are included in the library's online catalog.  In addition, the library provides access to government agency websites as well as government search engines from its Government Documents page.

Two relevant government agencies include:

United States Department of Health and Human Services

National Institutes of Health

Most government agencies include a search function on their home page to query the site. These are especially helpful when multiple agencies exist under one main agency as in the case of Health and Human Services. Also look for lists of publications or links to reference items.


Evaluating the Internet, & Internet Search Engines

Evaluating Internet Information - Provided by Olson Library

Since numerous government publications are available on the Internet, search engines are a great way to locate these documents as well as identify some of the relevant agencies. The following search engines are especially useful when searching for government documents.

USAGov
The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal. Searches across many government web sites. Also organizes information into topics.

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours