Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


UN 100: Freshman Seminar
Athletic Training Block

Library Resource Guide

Locating Journal Articles

Medline
Provides unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature, including sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, and other topics relevant to exercise science. Provides some full text links.

Sport Discus
Provides literature relating to sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment, and more.

Google Scholar
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides unique features, such as relevance ranking of your results, the ability to find "Related Articles", and the opportunity to see other papers that have cited a specific paper.


Locating Books

Library Catalog
Contains the books, government documents, and audio-visual materials in Olson Library. Search for specific parts of the body (ie. anterior cruciate ligament). Also consider searching on broader concepts--knee injuries, sport injuries, athletic injuries,etc.

StatRef
A collection of full text, medical e-books. Approximately 60 titles are included.


Citing Sources

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the most common sources, including online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed in this guide. Reference Collection: BF 76.7 P83


Further Assistance

If you need help with any of these resources ask for assistance at the Library
Reference Desk (227-2294 or live chat).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours