Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


UN 100 - Business Block - Ms. McCormick

Library Resource Guide developed by Prof. Strahan, Library


Library Assistance

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat, (227-2294) or (info@nmu.edu)

Plagiarism is using someone else's ideas or words & claiming them as your own without properly citing or attributing to the source. As the wealth of information in a variety of formats become easier to access on the Internet, it is increasingly important to properly cite where you find information. For further information, consult the NMU Writing Center handout on plagiarism, and the NMU Student Handbook policies on Academic Dishonesty under Student Rights & Responsibilities section 1.2.3,
& Student Code section 2.2.3.

APA Style Reference Formats Guide
Reference Collection: Ref. BF 76.7 P83 2001
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

MLA Style Reference Formats Guide (used for English courses)
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.


Books & Other Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles. 

For career information, search under the term vocational guidance and your profession/career (e.g. accounting vocational guidance or administrative assistant? vocational guidance).

Key Sources
The following sources contain brief information on a wide variety of careers/occupations.

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Ref. HF 5381 .E52
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Ref. HD 8051 .A62 (also available online)
Occupational Outlook Quarterly - Per. HF 5382.5 .U5 O3 (also available online)
Career Guide to Industries - Ref. HD 8051 .A64 (also available online)
Specialty Occupational Outlook, Trade & Technical - Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 S594
Specialty Occupational Outlook, Professions - Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 S595
Jobs Rated Almanac - Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 K72 2002
O*NET Formerly the Dictionary of Occupational Titles, this online resource is touted as the nation's primary resource of occupation information.

Michigan Occupational Reports for Exploration
New and Emerging Occupations
America's Career InfoNet

Regional Profiles for Industry Targeting - Brief profiles reflecting workforce availability in twelve regions including the Upper Peninsula.


Journal and Magazine Articles - Business-specific

ABI/INFORM Global — Contains records from nearly 2,000 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals.  Over 50% online full-text/full-image. Indexes some nursing, hospital, health management, and medical records journals. Also includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal. Covers articles published 1971-present.

Search Strategy (copy & paste)
careers or "career preparation" or "career development planning" or "occupational choice" Subject
us Location
name of career Subject
Example
careers or "career preparation" or "career development planning" or "occupational choice" Subject
us Location
accounting or accountant Subject

Computer Database — Indexes periodical articles covering all aspects of computer technology and systems. Full-text/full-image articles are available for over 25% of the 625+ periodicals indexed. Also includes product reviews/evaluations. Covers material published 1982-present.

Search Strategy (copy & paste)
Keyword "vocational guidance"
Keyword name of career
Example
Keyword "vocational guidance"
Keyword programmer

Note: For more results, select Magazines tab.


Journal and Magazine Articles - All subjects

The terminology for locating career information varies from database to database. Combine your profession/career with any of the following terms:

Profession or Career* or Occupation* or Vocation*

Academic OneFile
Index to articles in over 10,000 scholarly journals and some general periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 journal titles. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and some scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.


Newspapers

Access World News
Access World News provides full text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all newspapers or titles from a particular state, country, or continent. While coverage varies from title to title and typically goes back only to the late 1990's, some titles extend back to the mid 1970's.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours