Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


AD 100 / UN 100 - Career Resources

Updated 10/10/2014

 

Books & Other Library Materials

To search above for career information in either OneSearch (articles) or the Library Catalog (books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns)

enter the phrase "vocational guidance" and your profession/career

For example:
geography "vocational guidance"
nursing "vocational guidance"

Download Adobe Digital Editions (needed to open some e-books)

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.
Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.


Specialized databases/resources for students in "Health Sciences" blocks

Nursing students: Use CINAHL to search for journal articles by copying & pasting the following strategy in the first search box: ("employment+" OR "careers in nursing")

and then add your specialty in the second search box. Recommend using phrase searching of plurals. Example: "registered nurses"

Clinical Sciences students: Use PubMed to search for journal articles by copying & pasting the following strategy: (career* OR "vocational guidance")
and then add your specialty.

Radiography / Respiratory students: Use CINAHL to search for journal articles
1. Search CINAHL Headings to identify terms for your specialty
2. Copy & paste the following strategy in another search box:
(occupations OR "employment+" OR career*)

 

Anatomy TV - a totally different way of learning anatomy for nursing, RT, ST, biology, health, sports, or other majors.


Key Career Sources
Click here for APA & MLA Style reference format examples of these works

The following sources contain brief information on a wide variety of careers/occupations.

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
- Recommend utilizing "Search Inside" feature.
Print copies in reference: HF 5381 .E52

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Source for occupational information including training & education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, working conditions. Print version in Reference. HD 8051 .A62.

Career Outlook - Published Quarterly by the U. S. Dept of Labor, Bureau of Labor and Statistics. Print copies in periodicals: HF 5382.5 .U5 O3. Indexed in several databases available at NMU.


Credible/Authoritative Career Web Resources
Click here for APA & MLA Style reference format examples of these works


America's Career InfoNet ** Excellent listing of related careers & state-specific comprehensive Information **

O*NET Formerly the Dictionary of Occupational Titles, this database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. This information can be used to facilitate career exploration, vocational counseling, and a variety of human resources functions, such as developing job orders and position descriptions and aligning training with current workplace needs.

Employment Online Resources. A large list of websites covering specific fields, job descriptions, job listings, and resume & salary information.

LearningExpressLibrary.
This resource lets you take tests, courses, and exercises related to many careers. This is a very good resource.

Michigan-specific Resources

Michigan Talent A collaborative effort of the State of Michigan’s Workforce Development Agency (WDA) and the Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC) - is your launch pad for new jobs, careers and talent. It is an online marketplace connecting Michigan’s job seekers and employers, and serves as a central hub linking all public and private stakeholders who support Michigan’s workforce. Pure Michigan Talent Connect serves as the state’s labor exchange system.
Michigan Helping Hand website. More than career resources here. "This site helps Michigan citizens facing economic hardship find the services they need. Simply click on one of the five tabs below for links to information about jobs and training, unemployment benefits, health care, family support and housing. Then click on the particular links that describes the help you're seeking."


Plagiarism and Style Guides (citing your sources)
Plagiarism is using someone else's ideas or words & claiming them as your own. You must properly cite or attribute a source when you are using someone else's ideas. As the wealth of information in a variety of formats become easier to access on the Internet, it is increasingly important to properly cite where you find information. For further information, consult the NMU Writing Center handout on plagiarism, and the NMU Student Handbook policies on Academic Dishonesty under Student Rights & Responsibilities section 1.2.3, & Student Code section 2.2.3.

APA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site. Reference Collection: Ref. BF 76.7 P83

MLA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53

MLA to APA style transition guide
Examples helps students who are familiar with MLA style to transition to APA style for creating references.


Library Assistance

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" assistance including interactive chat, phone (227-2294) or email (info@nmu.edu).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours