UN 100 - Careers & Analyzing Internet Resources
Library Resource Guide
Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns. Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.
For career information, search under the term vocational guidance and your profession/career (e.g. social work vocational guidance or nursing vocational guidance).
Key Sources - Click here for APA Style reference formats of these works
The following sources contain brief information on a wide variety of careers/occupations.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Ref. HF 5381 .E52
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Source for occupational information including training & education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, working conditions. Print version in Reference. HD 8051 .A62.
Occupational Outlook Quarterly - Published Quarterly by the U. S. Dept of Labor, Bureau of Labor and Statistics. Print copies in periodicals: HF 5382.5 .U5 O3. Indexed in several databases available at NMU.
Career Guide to Industries - Focus on industry not specific occupations. Print version in Reference HD 8051 .A64.
O*NET Formerly the Dictionary of Occupational Titles , this online resource is touted as the nation's primary resource of occupation information.
Web Sites - Click here for APA Style reference formats of these works (in-progress)
America's Career InfoNet ** Excellent listing of related careers & state-specific comprehensive Information **
Michigan Occupational Reports for Exploration
New and Emerging Occupations, a resource from Michigan Jobs & Career Portal.
Michigan Helping Hand website. More than career resources here. "This site helps Michigan citizens facing economic hardship find the services they need. Simply click on one of the five tabs below for links to information about jobs and training, unemployment benefits, health care, family support and housing. Then click on the particular links that describes the help you're seeking."
LearningExpressLibrary.
This resource lets you take tests, courses, and exercises related to many careers.
The terminology for locating career information varies from database to database. Combine your profession/career with any of the following terms:
Profession or Career* or Occupation* or Vocation*
ERIC
An abstract database to scholarly & trade journal articles in the field of education. Also includes references/full text to ERIC Documents (reports/documents, lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).
ABI/INFORM Global — Index to articles in business and economics journals. Indexes some nursing, hospital, health management, and medical records journals. Also includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.
MEDLINE - Indexes Medicine, Biomedical, and Nursing scholarly/professional journals. Covers material published 1965-present. Search as Subject: "Career Choice" or Occupations
Academic OneFile
Index to articles in over 10,000 scholarly journals and some general periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 journal titles. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.
General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.
Access World News
Access World News provides full text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all newspapers or titles from a particular state, country, or continent. While coverage varies from title to title and typically goes back only to the late 1990's, some titles extend back to the mid 1970's.
Plagiarism is using someone else's ideas or words & claiming them as your own without properly citing or attributing to the source. As the wealth of information in a variety of formats become easier to access on the Internet, it is increasingly important to properly cite where you find information. For further information, consult the NMU Writing Center handout on plagiarism, and the NMU Student Handbook policies on Academic Dishonesty under Student Rights & Responsibilities section 1.2.3,
& Student Code section 2.2.3.
APA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site. Reference Collection: Ref. BF 76.7 P83 2001
MLA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53
Evaluating Internet Information - Provided by Olson Library
| "Interesting Web Sites" |
Dihydrogen Monoxide - Research Division
IDchip.com vs. IDchips.com |
| Learn about search engines |
How Search Engines Work - Written by Danny Sullivan, authority on search engines, and owner of searchenginewatch.com web site.
Search Engine Showdown - Features Chart - Written by Greg Notess, Reference Librarian, authority on search engines, and owner of Search Engine Showdown web site. Also check his News page for latest on search engines.
|
| Internet Archives |
Internet Archive - Extensive collection of archival visual resources. Check out the Wayback Machine.
|
| Search Engines |
Google Advanced Search - Limit searches to language, format, update, domain, etc. Note also LINK function.
Google Images Advanced Search - Consider using Images search to locate pictures, statistical tables, graphs, etc .
Google Scholar Advanced Search - Scholarly materials including articles, books, technical reports, and conference papers. Limit search to subject area(s), and also consider the "Citator" feature. In results list, note "Cited by" and NMU-specific links.
Google Alerts - E-mail updates of search results.
Scirus - Science-specific web sites (Hosted by Elsevier).
SUMSearch - searches a variety of web resources including PubMed and metasearch engines. Excellent medical-oriented limiting (filters).
USA.gov - Searches U.S. Federal & State Government web sites.
Use advanced search mode
Metacrawler Advanced Search - The first metasearch engine, and still one of the best. Provides top results from 14+ search engines including Google. Default results display grouped by search engine.
c|net Search.com (1000 search engines) - Advanced mode available, along with Research by Topic -- search by 200 specialty topics.
Dogpile Advanced Web Search - Provides results from Google, Yahoo, msn, and Ask.
|
| Search Engines - Evaluative/Human-Powered Type |
Librarian's Index to the Internet - Maintained by California librarians. Weekly updates available via e-mail.
INFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resources Collection - Recommend using Advance Search mode, and select Resource Access - Free. |
Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" assistance including interactive chat, phone (227-2294) or email (info@nmu.edu). |