Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


UN 100: Psychology Block
Library Resource Guide

Updated 11/11/2013
Search for books, articles, audio, video and more

Example: "isle royale" and moose Advanced Search

Browse Databases: Subject-Specific  |  A-Z List

 


Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.

For career information, search on your profession/career or the field, including spelling variations (e.g., if psychiatrist results are few, try psychiatry). If too many results, consider searching under the term vocational guidance and your profession/career (e.g. school counselor vocational guidance, or psychiatry vocational guidance).


Key Sources

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Latest print edition in Reference HF 5381 .E52

Occupational Outlook Handbook
 - Source for occupational information including training & education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, working conditions. Print version in Reference. HD 8051 .A62.


Occupational Outlook Quarterly - Published Quarterly by the U. S. Dept of Labor, Bureau of Labor and Statistics. Print copies in periodicals: HF 5382.5 .U5 O3. Indexed in several databases available at NMU.

Web Sites

O*NET Formerly the Dictionary of Occupational Titles , this online resource is touted as the nation's primary resource of occupation information.

America's Career InfoNet ** Excellent listing of related careers & state-specific comprehensive Information **

Michigan state resource from Michigan Jobs & Career Portal .

Michigan Helping Hand website
. More than career resources here. "This site helps Michigan citizens facing economic hardship find the services they need. Simply click on one of the five tabs below for links to information about jobs and training, unemployment benefits, health care, family support and housing. Then click on the particular links that describes the help you're seeking."

Journal and Magazine Articles - Discipline specific

PsycINFO
An abstract database of psychological literature from 1805–present published by the American Psychological Association. Types of Sources: Books, book chapters, journals, theses and dissertations, reports, and other secondary publications plus foreign language periodicals written in over 25 languages. Also included are over 20 million cited references from journal articles, books, and book chapters. Updated weekly.

PsycARTICLES
A database of full-text articles in English from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Date of Coverage: 1985 to the present. Updated daily.

ERIC  — Contains records for scholarly & trade journal articles, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).

JSTOR  — The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Journals are divided into 47 disciplines including, Psychology  (7 journals) , Education (50 journal titles), Sociology (47 titles), General Science  (8 journals). Coverage: 1878 to "moving wall" of 1-5 years before the most recently published issue.

Newspapers

Access World News
Access World News provides full text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all newspapers or titles from a particular state, country, or continent. While coverage varies from title to title and typically goes back only to the late 1990's, some titles extend back to the mid 1970's.

Plagiarism and Style Guides (citing your sources)


Plagiarism is using someone else's ideas or words & claiming them as your own. You must properly cite or attribute a source when you are using someone else's ideas. As the wealth of information in a variety of formats become easier to access on the Internet, it is increasingly important to properly cite where you find information. For further information, consult the NMU Writing Center handout on plagiarism , and the NMU Student Handbook policies on Academic Dishonesty under Student Rights & Responsibilities .

APA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to reference some of the more common sources, including web pages and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association .  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site. Reference Collection: Ref. BF 76.7 P83

MLA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers . Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

You can contact SaraJane Tompkins by email or by phone at 227-2431.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours