Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


UN 100 : Journalism and Local Resources
Prof. Valentine

Marquette Area Resources

Print

  • Polk City Directory, Marquette Michigan. REF F574.M3 P6 [YEAR]. The latest 5 years are kept in Reference, older editions in Archives. Includes Ishpeming and Negaunee.

  • Marquette County 2009 Plat Book. REF G1413.M33 G46 2009. Current copy in Reference, older copies in the Map Collection. Other UP counties are shelved adjacent to this.

  • Marquette County 2006 Road Atlas. REF G1413.M33 M3 2006.

  • Hunt’s Guide to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. REF F572.N8 H86 2001. One copy kept in Reference and one copy circulates. Although dating from 2001, this is still a good reference tool for the U.P., and there is a newer edition available online.

  • Similar to the Hunt's Guide is Michigan's Upper Peninsula Almanac, published in 2009. F 572 .N8 J66 2009.

  • Upper Peninsula Business Register & Market Facts Guide. Published every year, this is a summary of statistics (business, economic, demographic), business and industry listings, transportation, recreation, etc., for the Upper Peninsula. The most recent two years are kept in Reference, older issues in Archives. REF HF5065 .M5 U665 (DATE).

  • Atlases of Michigan can be found in the G1410 to G1413 call number range; Maps of Michigan can be found in the G4110-G4113 call number range (should you just want to aimlessly browse these call numbers). The Michigan Off Road Guide Upper Peninsula Edition is in the map collection, shelved with the atlases. Call number G1412.U6 E63 M52 2006.

  • Books about Michigan can be found in the F561-F575 call number range (again, for aimless browsing).

  • Many print resources can be found at the NMU Archives, located on the first floor of the LRC. In fact, they have the Upper Peninsula Sled Dog Association records.

Online

  • City of Marquette. Includes links to information on the city commissioners, manager, departments, and boards and commissions. Also included are online city forms (small arms permit, waste permit, Freedom of Information Act, etc.), maps (voting precincts, sidewalk plowing map, bike path route, etc.), descriptions of the city's strategic and master plans, and property inormation.

  • Marquette County. Provides links to administrative units, board members and county officials, commissions, courts, human service programs, etc.

  • National Weather Service, Marquette. Offers daily forecasts, satellite imagery, daily and monthly climate summaries, and more. All weather information nationwide comes from the National Weather Service. Historic weather data is found here (search for Marquette).

  • Marquette County Health Department. Find statistics, information on local issues of interest and concern, state and national health issues, etc.

  • Additional local and regional resources are available from the NMU Government Documents webpages.

  • U.P. 200. Official website of the U.P. 200, which includes the Midnight Run and Jack Pine 30 dog sled races.


    Non-Governmental Local and Regional Resources

Other Sources for Local Information

  • The Peter White Public Library (the local collection, both circulating and non-circulating, is upstairs adjacent to the Reference Desk). Ishpeming Carnegie Public Library.

  • Marquette County Regional History Center, 145 W. Spring Street.

  • Free maps and brochures are available from the Michigan Welcome Center (by the lake, on U.S. 41 near Harvey), and the Chamber of Commerce, 501 S. Front St.

  • Find out what the Federal Government has planned for your area: Regulations.gov and the easier to use Govpulse.

Citing your sources

 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Please use this service only if the item is not available from MeLCat to acquire materials not held by Olson Library.

Please register with the ILLiad system before submitting your first ILL request.
(Wildcat Express or LDES card required.)

Before submitting any request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., CINAHL), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in popup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials, and at least 2 weeks to receive book/other materials; request default is 30 days.
General Information

 

 

Need further assistance?
Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources. You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294. You may also contact the Government Documents/Maps Librarian directly, Krista E. Clumpner, at 227-1205.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours