Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Embedded Library Resources, Services, & Help
Nursing

rev. 1/26/2014

Help from your Personal Embedded Nursing Librarian, Prof. Mike Strahan
Office: LRC 233
phone: (906) 227-2463

Chat/Contact Mike @ the Library (when/how available?)

E-mail

Library Maps Nursing & Medicine in R's; Psychology in BF's

NMU Library Catalog (all print & online holdings)


Searching for Articles (Do not bookmark database page!)

(If you do not see full-text icon, always click ) How to use Find It (video)

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text (use also for finding care plans, patient ed. materials/ care pamphlets)

PubMED (Nursing & Medical journals published 1965-present)

 
 

The **OneSearch** box below is customized for all Nursing students. Results exclude newspaper articles and book reviews, and are sorted in reverse chronological order. If you see a dragon (Shibboleth), please enter your NMU username and password (same used for EduCat) to continue searching.


Health Statistics/Community Health/Epidemiology library guide

Library Distance Education Services (DNPs, FNPs, & last-semester BSNs immediately qualify)
Submit a NEW LDES Registration

APA Reference Style Tools (6th ed. 2010)

NMU Library APA References Examples

*NEW* Creating Presentations?
Examples of how to Caption, Cite in-text, & Reference illustrations retrieved from the web

How to create references (flash videos)

APA-published sample papers

Zotero (FireFox free research management tool, & Word add-in) (see video)

Zotero Word plugin

NMU Resolver (under Advanced Settings):
http://zc9gn3am3j.search.serialssolutions.com/

Zotero How-to Videos (NMU)
 


Searching other Databases (Do not bookmark database page!)

(If you do not see full-text icon, always click ) How to use Find It (video)

Cochrane Library (resource for evidence-based health care research)

PsycINFO (Psychology-related journals, books, & other resources published 1805-present)

ABI/INFORM Global (Business & hospital-related journals, dissertations & theses, books, & other resources published 1900-present)

Google Scholar (results arranged by most-cited)

Search full-text of online books & legal materials

STAT!Ref (CURRENT online medical /nursing diagnosis, care, & drug books; Stedman's, Taber's; NCLEX-RN podcasts)

Health & Wellness Resource Center (+alternative health) (articles, encyclopedias, videos)

PsycBOOKS (Psychology-related books published 1809-present)

WestLaw (Federal & State statutes, regulations, court decisions, & law journals online full-text)

*NEW* Hospital Information & Statistics Sources


HCUPnet:
Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project

(extensive stats!)

American Hospital Directory
(includes basic stats
for hospital)
America's Best Hospitals
(rankings)
 

Evidence-based Practice Resources

AHRQ National Guideline Clearinghouse ACE Star (tm) EBP (UTHSCSA) Other EBP Resources

Other Olson Library Nursing Resources
 
Need materials not held by the Library? [ NMU Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Policies ]

Click here to request articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) (allow minimum of 10 days)


Click here to search & request books & videos (not articles) through MeLCat


Click here to request materials not available in MeLCat
(allow minimum of 14 days)

 

Other Nursing Library Guides:

UN 100 Career Resources Guide

Job Hunting & LIfe After Graduation Guide

 
[future use] [future use] [future use] [future use]  
 




Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours