Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Theses and Dissertations

Northern Michigan University Theses

Print and Electronic Theses *some full text
The library catalog contains print and electronic theses for NMU, and a few from Finlandia University. You have two options for locating theses. One is to browse by subject area. The other is to use the Guided Search screen, where you can combine the term thesis with an author's name, keyword term (e.g. nursing), etc.

Electronic Theses Only [Fall 2006 - present] *full text
NMU electronic theses are also contained in Proquest's Dissertations and Theses database. Since the library does not subscribe to the entire database, we can only search and view NMU theses. You cannot browse by department, but there are capabilities for locating theses by advisor, subjects (author assigned), and keywords (author assigned). Alternatively you can search using your own keywords.


National and International Theses and Dissertations

Worldcat Dissertations and Theses
Citations to theses and dissertations from over 20,000 libraries. WorldCat Dissertations & Theses is a subset of the WorldCat database.

ABI/Inform *full text
ABI/Inform is a business database that covers related dissertations from 1935 to the present, although coverage is sparse prior to 1980. The database includes dissertations from the U.S. and other several other countries. There are multiple searching options, but you need to restrict the search to dissertations (via the publication type option at the bottom of the search screen) or you will also retrieve other materials.

ERIC *some full text
ERIC is an education database that includes theses and dissertations from 1960 to the present. Coverage is worldwide.
Limiting your search to only theses and dissertations requires a few steps. First you need to enter the term theses in one of the three search boxes, and change the type of search from keyword (via the drop down box) to publication type. In the other two search boxes you can enter author, title or keyword terms depending on your needs. Finally, after the search boxes there are options to limit your search. In the drop down box for Document Type Phrase select Document (ED). Check this screen capture for an example.

Google Scholar *some full text
Google Scholar
indexes theses and dissertations from throughout the world. Recommend including either "master's thesis", "doctoral thesis", or "doctoral dissertation" (as appropriate) for search words. Click here for further information from ProQuest about searching for theses or dissertations in Google Scholar, Google, and Google Books.

MeLCat
Search MeLCat to request dissertations & theses from Michigan universities. Note: the University of Michigan does not currently participate in MeLCat. Include the word dissertation or thesis in search phrase; look for pagination of "leaves" instead of pages. There is no fee charged to patrons when requesting through MeLCat.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Union Catalog (NTLDT) *full text
NDLTD serves as a repository of theses and dissertations contributed by a number of member institutions (~85) throughout the world. Coverage is varied, but is greater after 1995. There are multiple search options.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) *full text
OATD is an index of over 1.6 million electronic graduate-level theses and dissertations that are freely available to download and read right now from over 600 colleges and universities.

The Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR) *some full text
OpenDOAR is primarily a service to enhance and support the academic and research activities of the global community. OpenDOAR maintains a comprehensive and authoritative list of institutional and subject-based repositories. Because more than theses or dissertations are found here, use either term (thesis or dissertation) when you search along with the subject you are looking for.

ProQuest Databases

** NEW ** ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open (PQDT Open) *full text
PQDT Open is a repository of entire PDF full text open access dissertations and theses submitted to UMI ProQuest. Although few (< 20) open access were published between 1970-1999, over 13,000 are dated 2000 to present. There are multiple search options. Note: not all theses/dissertations from any specific institution are available here, but only those where the author chose to publish as open access.

Dissertation Express
Dissertation Express indexes dissertations and master's theses published 1861 - present. Search by keyword, author, title, or UMI publication number. Note: results are limited to 40 titles at a time, and do not contain abstracts. Does indicate Open Access (free PDFs), but may not limit search to these. Users may order PDF, paper, or microfilm copy for a fee.

Theses Canada Portal *some full text
The Theses Canada Portal contains print and electronic Canadian theses and dissertations. Most of the electronic documents are after 1998. Multiple search options are available. Date sort not working.


Borrowing Theses and Dissertations From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan allows you to borrow theses and dissertations from other universities. However, there often is a charge associated with borrowing these materials, and delivery time is around 2-3 weeks.
Note: Some universities no longer retaining paper copies; instead, they provide online access only to their patrons. Alternatively, you can purchase many theses and dissertations from Proquest via Dissertation Express.

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours