Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU WebCT

 


Military Science Resources

The resources selected here are intended to support the mission of the the ROTC program and the Military Science Department at NMU.

Military Websites: Specific Branches of the Service

The Department of Defense. Defenselink: The official web site for the Department of Defense and the starting point for finding U.S. military information online. News, images, video, publications, etc. You can link to the individual branches, or, go directly there: Army, Navy, Air Force, and the Marines. Also, the Army National Guard and the Army Reserve.

Military Publications and Databases

The NCO Journal. Published 4 times a year, this journal supports training, education and professional development of the NCO Corps.

U.S. Army War College. A very good resource. The links off this page include the Strategic Studies Institute (SSI), the Center for Strategic Leadership, and the Military History Institute. Publications, photographs, archival materials, etc. are accessible.

Command & General Staff College . This is another very good resource for online publications and links to databases and other military websites. Of particular interest is their Combined Arms Research Library (CARL).

National Defense University. Under the direction of the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, the NDU is " the premier center for joint professional military education." Click on NDU Press and then on title under the Books heading.

Army Publishing Directorate. Publisher and distributor of Army publications. Publications and forms can be searched by number, title, series title, or proponent collection. Many are available freely online but a few are not.

Army Newspapers. A list of online, unofficial newsletters and newspapers issued by U.S. Army posts located in the U.S. and elsewhere, arranged alphabetically by title.

Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI). Unfortunately, not all of the articles cited are available full text. In the event you find a citation to an article that interests you, it will probably need to be interlibrary loaned through NMU. That form is here.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC). Members of the military can register to use this service and view documents beyond (and including) the public's access (which is STINET). The "Find a Document" tab on DTIC gives you the choice of what database to use. Unfortunately this is the kind of database that almost requires you to know what you are looking for first.

Digital Video & Imagery Distribution System. Military publications have always been hard to locate outside of the military. Even with the availability of so many online, it is still not easy. This website is one such portal to them. Publications can also be located via the Central Command website. "Other News Sources" from Defenselink also contains a listing of publications. Registration may be required to view stories.

National Defense Intelligence College. As the name suggests, publications on many aspects of intelligence can be located here. Most are freely available for download.

The Homeland Security Digital Library. The nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. This database is available for NMU students and faculty.

General U.S. Government (and other) Search Engines

USA.gov Military Personnel & Veterans. Includes a variety of resources: current news, veteran information, family support, transition assistance, recruitment, reserves, etc.

Military Domain Search Engine. Search only in .mil domains via the Center for Army Lessons Learned.

Google US Government. Search both .mil and .gov (as well as other pertinent domains realted to the government).

The Catalog of Government Publications. This resource resembles a library catalog, and includes links to online publications. Use these terms when searching:

  • Command of troops
  • Leadership (include the word “military” as well)
  • Soldiers—United States
  • Military Art and Science
  • Military Education

Other Resources (selected)

GlobalSecurity.org. Since 2000, this organization "is the leading source of background information and developing news stories in the fields of defense, space, intelligence, WMD, and homeland security." Of note is their collection of Army Field Manuals.

Center for Defense Information (CDI). Source for a variety of military and defense issues ranging from Arms Control & Disarmament to World Military Expenditures. Select from the drop-down "programs" menu.

Defense News. Part of the Army Times publishing group. The leading military and government news periodical publisher in the world, providing independant, professional news. There is just basic access here as we do not hold a subscription.

Military.com. Since 1999. With over 8 million members, this is the largest military membership organization. Conains news and information for active and inactive servicemembers as well as current information from a variety of sources in and out of the government.

Federation of American Scientists Military Analysis Network. Nice central source for worldwide military information ranging from weapon systems to budget and policy analysis. This website is a good compliment to GlobalSecurity.

Bibliography of private military companies. Compiled by Dana Simpson, Maxwell AFB. Links to Internet resources, book and article citations, as well as government documents.

NMU Library Resources

PsycINFO (1805-present)
This is the premier database in the field of psychology. Much more than journal articles are indexed, though. Books and their chapters, dissertations, reports, and other secondary publications are included. The military, as well as the functioning of small units, is studied under this field. Other databases will have resources, but I found this database to have the most. Search tips:

  • “Military Psychology” as either a descriptor or a subject heading.
  • “Industrial & Organizational Psychology” and the term “military” or “army”.
  • “Group Cohesion” and Military.
  • “Military Personnel” and leadership OR unit
  • A keyword search with terms such as Army or Military and then Leadership will return relevant articles or other references.

War and Terrorism Collection and the Military and Intelligence Database
From Gale, these databases contain over 500 full-text sources (100 and 400 respectively) on these topics.

When searching the NMU library catalog, it is helpful to use the same search terms as mentioned with the Catalog of Government Publications:

  • Command of troops
  • Leadership (include the word “military” as well)
  • Soldiers—United States
  • Military Art and Science
  • Military Education

Oxford Reference Online: Here you can find The Oxford Companion to American Military History, A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, The Oxford Companion to Military History, The Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military, and The Oxford Companion to World War II.

For any questions or assistance, or if you would like to see additional resources on this page, contact the library liaison for Military Science, Bruce Sarjeant, ph 227-1580. LRC room 234.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours