Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


AIS 535

After Graduation Freely-Accessible Professional & Research Resources

Guide developed by Professor Mike Strahan, Olson Library (227-2463)

Updated 12/5/2017

Live Chat/Contact Mike Here

 

Professional Development

Information Overload including RSS

Information Portals (more than just articles)

Statewide Subscription Databases

Free Databases
Online Journals


Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat
(227-2294) or
(info@nmu.edu)

Library Catalog contains records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries.  (Note:  Does not contain articles which appear in journals.)

Accessing NMU Olson Library Resources after graduation

  1. Library guide of databases & online journals available to NMU Alumni

  2. Open to anyone walking in; may use library computers to access online databases. May e-mail material to self.
  3. Photocopiers use cash.

  4. Community Borrower Card ($25/year) allow patrons to check out materials (same as students). Must
    live in the Upper Peninsula. Note: Fee is waived for NMU Alumni.

Library Map


Professional Development
(Graduates should also seek out similar resources through professional organizations.)

Coping with Information Overload of the Literature

Twitter & Facebook - What else can I say in fewest words possible? Many organizations, CEU's, firms, and news providers communicate via Twitter.

Manage all your IM, e-mail, and social networks using tools such as Trillian, Adium (Mac-only), & Pidgin

CATALIST - Directory of professional discussion lists (not chat rooms).
Also search the web including the word: listserv

RSS (Really Simple Syndication) - A convenient, spam-free feeder method to automatically receive journal table of contents, tracking news, web sites, and other information. Look for orange icon. Built-in "Live Bookmarks" function through FireFox & Internet Explorer, and Chrome plugin make RSS much easier. Sometimes also labeled as Alerts.
Note: RSS available through many resources listed on this guide.

RSS/Blogs & News feeds Readers - bring together in one place
The Old Reader
Microsoft Live
Bloglines
Sitrion (formerly NewsGator)

Google Alerts - automatic e-mail updates of latest Google search results on your specific topic.

Google Scholar Alerts - automatic e-mail updates (3x per week) of latest Google Scholar search results on your specific topic.

Back to Menu


Information Portals

MEDLINEplus  - Sponsored by the NIH & NLM.  Includes interactive tutorials, health topics, drug information, illustrated medical encyclopedia, dictionary, health directory, and other resources.  Many resources are bilingual.

NLM's Databases & Electronic Information Resources - U.S. Government-hosted online health-related databases. Examples include Visible Human Project® and Turning the Pages (digitized rare biomedical books), plus specific resources for Native Americans, Asian Americans, clinical trials, etc.

Back to Menu


Statewide Access to Subscription Databases

Michigan eLibrary (MeL)  -  Requires Michigan Driver’s License # or State ID
Includes over 40 databases (some full-text) including EBSCO's e-books.

BadgerLink  - Registered ISP or Wisconsin public library card number

Cyberdrive Illinois - Requires contacting local Illinois public library for authorization & password

INSPIRE Indiana Virtual Library - Requires submitting Indiana local address info for password

Minnesota Statewide Access through ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) - Requires Minnesota public library card barcode number

Links to Statewide Virtual Library Collections (new for 2016) - Directory provided by the Library of Congress. Individual states usually require driver's license or library card number to access collections.

Back to Menu

Free Online Databases

OneSearch - Searching is free, but access to articles in subscription journals not available to the public.

Scopus - huge database of peer-reviewed literature. Some parts including journal metrics available for free.

WorldCat.org - simple search interface to the worldwide library catalog also available through FirstSearch. May also locate nearby libraries who hold materials by entering zip code.

ScienceDirect (most comprehensive science-specific search engine, but most articles not available for free)
May also Save a Search Alert.

Google Scholar (Advance Search) Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Also used as a citator database which tracks references.
May also Save a Search Alert.

NLM Gateway - National Library of Medicine's one-stop search for conference meeting abstracts & research projects in progress.

PubMed - Click on Limits tab to limit search by language, journal group (Nursing), age, gender, etc. Includes links to many freely available online journal artilces.
May also Save a Search Alert.

IngentaConnect – free Table of Contents searchable database (charges for articles) + free e-mailing of contents for up to 5 journals.

SUMSearch 2 - searches a variety of web resources including PubMed and metasearch engines. Excellent medical-oriented limiting (filters).

ERIC - Education & school health. Includes full-text of a few journals, and many ERIC documents.

Other Library Catalogues

COPAC – 24 of the largest UK & Ireland University Research Libraries (plus the British Library and the National Library of Scotland)  (search simultaneously)

Australia Libraries (union) Catalog (search many libraries simultaneously)
(strong emphasis in Exercise Science & other sciences)

AMICUS - Canadian National Catalogue

Back to Menu


Free online journals

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) - Free online access to full content of over 4,000 scientific & scholarly journals, including Nursing, Medicine, and Public Health titles. Holdings vary by title. Click on title to access journal. Searchable on the web site; many are also indexed in CINAHL &/or MEDLINE.

BioMed Central - over 150 peer-reviewed online free Open Acess journals.

LinkOut (National Library of Medicine) - Free online access to full content of over 650 journals; holdings vary by title. Click on title to access journal. All are indexed in MEDLINE.

Free Medical Journals (open access)

University of Pennsylvania Library E-Resources Search (free) — Very comprehensive list of electronic journals & other e-resources. Searchable by subject & keyword.

Back to Menu


Videos

Teachertube - Peer-reviewed broad spectrum of patient- and profession-oriented information.

MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning & Online Teaching) - Peer-reviewed online teaching & learning materials.

Google Videos - Familiar search interface to broad spectrum of videos appearing on teachertube, youtube, etc.  

Back to Menu



Clinical Trials


NIH Clinical Alerts & Advisories - Findings from NIH-funded clinical trials

Clinical Trials  - Federally & privately supported clinical research projects in human volunteers

Back to Menu

Evaluating the Internet, Evaluative Web Search Engines, and Metasearch Engines

Evaluating Internet Information - Provided by Olson Library

HON Code of Conduct (HONcode) - for medical and health Web sites

USAGov - Federal & State web sites search engine


Ixquick - Metasearch engine which retrieves the top-ten results from each search engine.

Google Scholar (Advanced Search) Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books.

Google Books (Advanced Search) Search for online books, book chapters, & technical reports. View portion or entire book online. Some books require Free Google Account to access online content.

Google (Advanced Search)

National Academies Press - Search full-text of books & reports "issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States." Free login required to view free PDF books or book chapters.

Rand Corporation Research Reports - 1946 to present; reports on a wide variety of topics -- primarily busines and other social sciences.

Back to Menu
 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours