Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


NAS 440: Awesiinh: Wild Animals Relations
Aimee Cree Dunn

Library Resource Guide

 

Relevant scientific resources

Anthropological Index Online – Articles from journals held by The Anthropology Library at the British Museum. Covers all branches of anthropology including cultural anthropology, archaeology, biological anthropology, and linguistics. 1950's to present.

BioOne Complete – Full-text journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Emphasis on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Limited coverage of biomedical, cellular, or molecular biology literature, especially as it relates to humans.

Birds of North America – Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. Account contents are updated frequently, with online-coordinated contributions from researchers, citizen scientists, and designated reviewers and editors.

Humanities Source – Includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Brought to you by the Library of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (https://mel.org).

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide – Journals, books, and other resources on ecology, wildlife, and wildlife management.1935 to present.

General full-text resources that can be searched by category

JSTOR – Complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals. 1878 to the most recent 1-5 years (varies by title). Select "Browse by subject," then scroll down to choose "American Indian Studies" under "Area Studies" to limit your search to journals focused on Native Americans. You may also find other categories helpful.

Project MUSE - Standard Collection – An interdisciplinary collection of over 300 high quality, peer reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries

MelCat, the Michigan Electronic Library Catalog, allows you to search public and academic libraries throughout the State of Michigan and request books and media. Items usually arrive in about a week. This resource is provided by the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org). You will be notified by email when your items arrive.

InterLibrary Loan also allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson LIbrary. Books, periodical articles,and other sources can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to recieve requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.

Style Guides

MLA Style Guide
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL), a detailed explanation of using MLA Style.

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to APA style. The guide also includes instructions for locating the doi for articles.

Zotero
Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well. If MLA 8th edition is not showing as an option in Zotero, got to https://www.zotero.org/styles?q=MLA and click on the link to Modern Language Association 8th edition. You'll be asked if you want to open this file in Zotero (say yes), and then it will be added to your Zotero.

Microsoft Word
You can also store and format citations in Microsoft Word. Click here for instructions.


Need further assistance? Stop by the Olson Library Public Services Desk for assistance, or contact Mollie Freier.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours