Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


AN 383 Medical Anthropology: Pluralistic Systems of Health Care

Dr. Alex Ruuska

Are you off campus and not using NMU as an Internet provider? You'll need to change your settings or run an additional program. Click here.

Selected Resources

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology, volumes 1 and 2. RA 418 .E354 2004. Volume 1 covers topics; volume 2 covers cultures (not a direct link: table of contents only). Each entry contains references.

Medical anthropology and the world system: critical perspectives. ebook.

Traditional Medicine: A Global Perspective. GN477 .T73 2010.

On Knowing and Not Knowing in the Anthropology of Medicine. ebook.

The Anthropology of Health and Healing. GN296 .W645 2010

An Anthropology of Biomedicine. GN296 .L63 2010

Health, Risk, and Adversity. ebook.

Native American Ethnobotany. REF E 98 .B7 M66 1998.

Medicine as Culture. ebook. And an older print edition RA418 .L74 2003.

Encyclopedia of Plague and Pestilence: From Ancient Times to the Present. RA649 .E53 1998

Bibliography of the History of Medicine. NMU Documents HE 20.3615:

International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology. GN 316 .I593.

Some subject headings worth trying: "Medical Anthropology", "Traditional Medicine", "Social Medicine".

Selected Medical Anthropological Journals (most available through NMU) and Database Resources:

  • Medical Anthropology Quarterly (earlier name Medical Anthropology Newsletter): Full text online; indexed in the following databases in adition to JSTOR: Anthropological Index Online, SocialSciAbs, MEDLINE, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts.

  • Medical Anthropology: Unavailable at NMU, but indexed in the following databases: Anthropological Index Online, google scholar, MEDLINE, and PsycINFO. You can sneak a peek here from the publisher.

  • Social Science & Medicine RA 418 .S644: Both print and electronic access, 1984-1991 in paper; 1995-present online. Indexed in the following databases: CINAHL, SocialSciAbs, MEDLINE, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts.

  • Human Organization GN 1 .H83: Both print and electronic access, 1941-present in print and electronic. Indexed in the following databases: ABI Inform, Anthropological Index Online, SocialSciAbs, MEDLINE, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts.

  • Culture, Medicine and Psychiatry: Online from 1997-present. Indexed in the following databases: MEDLINE, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, SocialSciAbs, and Springer.

  • Journal of Ethnobiology and Ethnomedicine: Online from 2005-present. Indexed in the following databases: MEDLINE, and MLA.

  • Anthropology & Medicine. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online, CINAHL, google scholar, MEDLINE, PubMed, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Academic Search Complete. Take a look at the publisher's website here.

  • Asclepio. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online, and google scholar. Sneak a peek here (English version website)

  • Cambridge Studies in Medical Anthropology. Not a journal, but an irregular series. Some is indexed in google scholar. You can browse many titles. Publisher link.

  • Cultura de Los Cuidados. Online from 2006-present. Indexed in CINAHL.

  • Culture, Illness & Healing. Not a journal, but an irregular series now discontinued. Publisher link.

  • Cultures et Medecines. French. Not a journal, but an irregular series. Publisher link.

  • Anthropologie & Santé. Also French, but a regular journal. Some is indexed in google scholar. Full text.

  • Curare: Journal of Ethnomedicine and Transcultural Psychiatry. German. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online, Social Services Abstracts, Medline, and Sociological Abstracts. Publisher link.

  • Dental Anthropology. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online and google scholar; online back to 1986. Publisher link.

  • Ethnicity & Disease. Indexed in google scholar and Medline. Publisher link.

  • Medecines du Monde. French. Not a journal, but an irregular series. Publisher's website.

  • Medicina Antropologica. Argentinian. Publisher's website.

  • Papeles de Trabajo. Centro de Estudios Interdisciplinarios en Etnoling��stica y Antropolog�a Socio-Cultural. Argentinian. Full text.

  • Sexologi. Norwegian. Indexed in google scholar. Publisher's website.

  • Transcultural Psychiatry. Online from 1964-present. Indexed in CINAHL, Sage, Medline, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts .

Direct links to databases listed above: ABI Inform, CINAHL, JSTOR, MEDLINE (PubMed), MEDLINE (FirstSearch), MLA, PsycINFO, Sage, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and Springer. The odd one out is the Anthropological Index Online--this is a free database.

Google Scholar. Not a free-for-all Internet search. Try the Advanced Search for a bit more control over your search.

NMU Library Catalog and for searching in Michigan libraries, MelCat, and even farther afield, WorldCat. Search with subject terms such as anthropology, “medical anthropology”, “medicine, traditional”, ethnobotany, ethnobiology, “traditional medicine”, "social medicine", "anthropology, cultural".

Interlibrary Loan of resources. Plan ahead! Get your books or articles early. Register for this now if you have not already done so! Requesting is easy when you use the button within most databases.

Internet Resources

What about that website you googled on into or were referred to? Don't believe everything you read online. Give these sources a critical look. Here is a checklist of Science vs. Pseudoscience.

Society for Medical Anthropology, a subgroup of the American Anthropological Association. Contains links to resources, news, journal information, contacts in the field, etc.

Native American Ethnobotany. Database from Daniel Moerman at U-M Dearborn (author of Native American Ethnobotany, listed above under Print Resources). Briefly cites the original publications where a reference to the plant and its use was mentioned, and then links to the USDA description of the plant.

Bibliography of Medicinal Plants from the Library of Congress, and one of Ethnobotany of the Americas.

U.S. National Library of Medicine Digital Collections.

Links from the Canadian Association for Physical Anthropology.

Medical Anthropology Glossary from Palomar College. Medical Anthropology is just one of the resources off their Cultural Anthropology Resources page.

Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health & Illness. Resource from the National Library of Medicine.

Demographic & Health Surveys from Measure DHS. Profiles over 90 countries with information about "health, nutrition, HIV, and population". Includes customizable data sets. Additional current information on health care and medicine in other countries can be found in Country Studies from the Library of Congress. The State Department's Post Reports were removed from public viewing in 2005, but might still have relevant information. An additional government resource is the Centers for Disease Control.

History of Medicine Homepage from the National Library of Medicine.

Citing

American Anthropological Association citation style is now officially the Chicago Manual of Style (fulltext link to the 2017 edition off the NMU styleguide page). Official Chigcao Manual of Style website.

Zotero. Only in the Mozilla browser, and standalone for Chrome and Safari. Manage your citations and research.

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294, or the creator of this course guide, Bruce Sarjeant, Reference Librarian (227-1580), LRC234.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours