Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Library Resources, Services, & Help
Deaf Studies Program

rev. 06/15/2018

Deaf History students click here to search for Deaf teachers

Help from your Personal Embedded Librarian, Professor "Library Mike" Mike Strahan
Office: LRC 233
phone: (906) 227-2463

Chat/Contact Mike @ the Library (when/how available?)

E-mail

Library Maps paper copies of Deaf Studies books are in the HV 1500's, 1700's, & 2000's; RC 451.4's; RF 100's, 200's, & 300's
Please Register for Distance Library Services (DLS) - Students who live off-campus (that is, not living in campus housing), and are enrolled in Deaf Studies courses taught either online or hybrid are pre-qualified for DLS.
 

Deaf Studies Library materials on physical Reserves (main desk):

Van Cleve, John. Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness. 3 volumes (in-library use only)

Everyday ASL Productions. ASL 15-dvd set.

 

eBooks (online books) (NMU login required)

(All books are unlimited access & download unless specified)

American Sign Language handshape dictionary 1998 [1 person at a time]

Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders (2004) [1 person at a time]


Deaf Culture (SL 358)

Cultural and language diversity and the deaf experience (1996) [1 person at a time]

Damned for Their Difference : The Cultural Construction of Deaf People as Disabled : A Sociological History (2002)

Deaf American Prose 1830-1930 (2013)

Deaf Culture: Exploring Deaf Communities in the United States (2018)

Deaf Community in America: History in the Making (2012)

Deaf Gain: Raising the Stakes for Human Diversity (2014)

Deaf heart : a novel (2015)

Deaf Liberation Theology (2016, c2007)

Forbidden Signs: American Culture and the Campaign against Sign Language (1998)

Handbook to Service the Deaf and Hard of Hearing: A Bridge to Accessibility (2004)

It's a small world: International Deaf spaces and encounters (2015)

Nothing About Us Without Us (1998)

Open Your Eyes: Deaf Studies Talking (2008)

Politics of Visual Language: Deafness, Language Choice, and Political Socialization (1999)

Reading Between the Signs: Intercultural Communication for Sign Language Interpreters (2011, c2006)

Reading Victorian Deafness (2013)

Signs of Hope: Deafhearing Family Life (2012)

Silent poetry: Deafness, sign, and visual culture in modern France (1995)

Social constructions of Deafness: examining Deaf  languacultures in education (2012)

Understanding Deaf Culture : In Search of Deafhood (2003)

Words Made Flesh: Nineteenth-Century Deaf Education and the Growth of Deaf Culture (2012)

 

 

 

Deaf History (SL 360)

Crossing the divide: representations of Deafness in biography (2006)

Crying hands: eugenics and Deaf people in Nazi Germany (1999) [1 person at a time]

Deaf community in America: history in the making (2012)

Deaf empowerment: emergence, struggle, and rhetoric (1997) [1 person at a time]

Deaf Gain: Raising the Stakes for Human Diversity (2014)

Deaf Heritage : A Narrative History of Deaf America (2012)

Deaf history reader (2007)

Deaf People in Hitler's Europe (2002)

Education of Laura Bridgman: first Deaf and blind person to learn language

Everyone Here Spoke Sign Language: Hereditary Deafness on Martha's Vineyard (1985)

Forbidden Signs: American Culture and the Campaign against Sign Language (1998)

Illusions of equality: Deaf Americans in school and factory, 1850-1950 (1999) [1 person at a time]

In our own hands : essays in deaf history, 1780-1970 (2016)

Reading Victorian Deafness (2013)

Show of hands: a natural history of sign language (2011)

A silent minority: Deaf education in Spain, 1550-1835 (1997)

Silent poetry: Deafness, sign, and visual culture in modern France (1995)

Speaking in Tongues : Languages at Play in the Theatre (2010)

Words Made Flesh: Nineteenth-Century Deaf Education and the Growth of Deaf Culture (2012)

 

 

 

 

ASL/sign language eBooks (a sampling)

Advances in the Sign Language Development of Deaf Children (2005)

Everyone Here Spoke Sign Language : Hereditary Deafness on Martha's Vineyard (1988)

Forbidden Signs: American Culture and the Campaign against Sign Language (1998)

Grammar, Gesture, and Meaning in American Sign Language (2003)

Modal and Focus Particles in Sign Languages : A Cross-Linguistic Study (2014) (German, Netherlands, &
Irish Sign Languages)

My first book of sign (1986) Children's book [1 person at a time]

On Relativization and Clefting: An Analysis of Italian Sign Language (2015)

Sign languages of the world: a comparative handbook (2015) - 38 countries

 

 

APA Reference Style Tools (6th ed. 2010)

NMU Library APA References Examples & DOI tools

Other APA Tools:
APA Tips Checklist
APA Basic in-text Citation Styles
- Format APA Content in Presentation Slides
Captioning Tables and Figures
APA in-text citations (Diana Hacker & Barbara Fister)

 

 

Searching for biographies by occupation? Gallaudet U. Library Guide

 

Looking for highly-credible web pages about Deaf Studies topics?

Start with national professional organizations

National Association of the Deaf

 

 
 

INSTRUCTIONAL VIDEOS

Check out professional videos through the Library's subscription to Films on Demand
(highly credible films & videos)

PBS Videos - Use search box

 
 

eBooks (online books)

STAT!Ref (Limit of 35 concurrent users among member libraries)
CURRENT online medical books & dictionaries
It is critical that you click on logout button when finished.

Also search NMU Library Catalog for thousands of others

Find info about European historical figures who contributed to the Deaf community

[OneSearch] Copy the following line:

life OR autobiography OR biography OR death OR obituary

then using OneSearch Advanced Search screen, paste that line in the first box.

In the second box, enter the person's name placing the name within quotation marks, such as
"Helen Keller"

If that generates no results or irrelevant results, click on Advanced (near the top) and delete quotation marks around the name. Next, change the field from "All Fields" to "Title" and hit the enter key.
If this change shows too many results, add the word: Deaf
Also if necessary, remove the "biography" line to yield more-relevant results.

[JSTOR] Also consider searching JSTOR which includes online access to a number of archival Deaf Studies journals.

Enter the person's name; start with the name within quotation marks, such as "Helen Keller" and also add the word: Deaf

[Google Scholar / Google Books / Google] Finally consider using Google Scholar (please use this link, not go directly, as you will miss out on NMU Library partnership with Google). Consider including the word Deaf in your search.

Note that Google Scholar also includes links to Google Books (use this link to access advanced search screen). However, we recommend also searching separately using the above link, to take advantage of Preview feature.

When results appear, Google will try to automatically translate, but we advise to re-set to "show original" so that you can more-easily see which works are written in languages other than English. Then if you want to translate works individually, this gives you more flexibility.

 


Looking for SLH/Communication or psychology aspects? Use PsycINFO which indexes many speech, language, hearing, & communication journals, & all psychology journals.


Cochrane Library (resource for evidence-based health care research)

Google Scholar (results arranged by most-cited)

 

 

 

Need materials not held by the Library? [ NMU Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Policies ]


Click here to search & request books & videos (not articles) through MeLCat


Click here to request articles, & materials not available in MeLCat
(allow minimum of 14 days)

Zotero (FireFox & Chrome free research management tool, & Word add-in)

NMU Resolver (under Advanced Settings):
http://zc9gn3am3j.search.serialssolutions.com/

 
 
[future use] [future use] [future use]
 
 




Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours