Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Help from your Personal Embedded Librarian, Professor Mike Strahan
Office: LRC 233
phone: (906) 227-2463

Chat/Contact Mike @ the Library (when/how available?)

E-mail

Library Maps medicine & nursing in the R's; Psychology in the BF's

NMU Library Catalog(all print & online holdings, including thousands of e-books)

WorldCat (holdings of over 60,000 libraries)

 

APA Reference Style Tools (6th ed. 2010)

NMU Library APA References Examples & DOI tools guide

Other APA Tools:

APA Tips Checklist
APA Basic in-text Citation Styles
- Format APA Content in Presentation Slides
Captioning Tables and Figures
APA in-text citations (Diana Hacker & Barbara Fister)

 

Searching Primary Nursing/Medical Databases (Do not bookmark database page!) 
(If you do not see full-text icon, always click  ) 
How to use Find It (video)

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text

THE database for researching all Nursing care topics (use also for finding care plans, patient ed. care pamphlets). 

For BEST results, avoid searching by keywords. Instead, always begin by searching topic in CINAHL Headings and apply subheadings.

PubMed (MEDLINE) (companion to CINAHL)

THE database for researching all medicine. Includes links to FREE articles, and NMU's . As NMU students & faculty, it is important you use the library's link to this database, not the direct URL to the free version.

For BEST results, avoid searching by keywords. Instead, always begin by searching topic in MeSH, then apply subheadings/qualifiers

Also restrict to MeSH Major topic.

NMU Library-created PubMed videos

How to Search using MeSH headings, and retrieve free/subscription online articles (5-minute video)

How to Create an NCBI account in PubMed (guide) -- Highly recommended to grad students & faculty

How to Search using MeSH, and Save a Search + initiate updates using an NCBI account (5-minute video)


Cochrane Library (THE resource for evidence-based health care research) - Reports, reviews, etc, on healthcare interventions. Provides evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.

Wiley-created tutorials on how to search Cochrane (7 minutes total)

Other related databases

Google Scholar (NMU partnership; results arranged by most-cited)

ABI/INFORM Global (Business & hospital-related journals, dissertations & theses, books, & other resources published 1900-present)

WestLaw (Federal & State statutes, regulations, court decisions, & law journals online full-text)

 

 

Looking for Psychology, Social Work & Sociology aspects?

PsycINFO (1809-present) - THE database for psychological aspects.

Social Services Abstracts (1979-present)
This database abstracts and indexes over 1300+ serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. 

Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
This is the premier database for sociology and related disciplines. Some of the topics covered include culture and social structure, family and social welfare, and demography.  This database covers a wide range of documents including over 1800 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.

 
 

Check out professional videos through the Library's subscription to Films on Demand

 

DNP Projects, Dissertations, & Master's Theses

Northern Michigan University Theses 

Print and Electronic Theses *some full text
The library catalog contains print and electronic theses for NMU, and a few from Finlandia University. You have two options for locating theses. One is to browse by subject area. The other is to use the Guided Search screen, where you can combine the term thesis with an author's name, keyword term (e.g. nursing), etc.

Electronic Theses Only [Fall 2006 - 2013] *full text 
NMU electronic theses are also contained in Proquest's Dissertations and Theses database. Since the library does not subscribe to the entire database, we can only search and view NMU theses. You cannot browse by department, but there are capabilities for locating theses by advisor, subjects (author assigned), and keywords (author assigned). Alternatively you can search using your own keywords.

NMU Theses [2014 - present] available in The Commons

Online Dissertations/Theses/Projects/Capstones

Nursing-specific repositories

Digital Commons Nursing Commons (also includes articles) *free full text
This Nursing Commons contains journal articles, presentations, as well as student work. Most of it is full text but occasionally the member library only inputs abstracts... but still it is another resource for finding student works at all levels of education.

Sigma Theta Tau International Virginia Henderson Library *free full text
Repository of of nursing capstones, master theses, and some dissertations. It is an excellent, high quality free resource.

** more sources coming soon **

 

Google Scholar *some free full text
Google Scholar indexes theses and dissertations from throughout the world. Recommend including either "master's thesis", "doctoral thesis", or "doctoral dissertation" (as appropriate) for search wordsClick here for further information from ProQuest about searching for theses or dissertations in Google Scholar, Google, and Google Books.

The Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR) *free full text
OpenDOAR is primarily a service to enhance and support the academic and research activities of the global community. OpenDOAR maintains a comprehensive and authoritative list of institutional and subject-based repositories. Because more than theses or dissertations are found here, use either term (thesis or dissertation) when you search along with the subject.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open Freely available  (PQDT Open) *free full text
PQDT Open is a repository of entire PDF full text open access dissertations and theses submitted to UMI ProQuest. Although few (< 20) open access were published between 1970-1999, over 13,000 are dated 2000 to present. There are multiple search options. Note: not all theses/dissertations from any specific institution are available here, but only those where the author chose to publish as open access.

Theses Canada Portal  *some free full text
The Theses Canada Portal contains print and electronic Canadian theses and dissertations. Most of the electronic documents are after 1998. Multiple search options are available.

 


Borrow print version for free

MeLCat
Search MeLCat to request dissertations & theses from Michigan universities. Note: the University of Michigan does not currently participate in MeLCat. Include the word dissertation or thesis or dnp or capstone in search phrase; look for pagination of "leaves" instead of pages. There is no fee charged to patrons when requesting through MeLCat.


Borrow print version through ILL using FindIt! button (might be free, but most likely will cost $$)

CINAHL Plus Full-Text
Limit to Source Type: Dissertations

Worldcat Dissertations and Theses
Citations to theses and dissertations from over 20,000 libraries. WorldCat Dissertations & Theses is a subset of the WorldCat database.


Buy your own copy ($38 instant download)

Dissertation Express
Dissertation Express indexes dissertations and master's theses published 1861 - present. Search by keyword, author, title, or UMI publication number. Note: results are limited to 40 titles at a time, and do not contain abstracts. Does indicate Open Access (free PDFs), but unable to limit search to these. Users may order PDF, paper, or microfilm copy for a fee.

 

DNP & publishing scholarship e-books

NEW: Writing for Publication in Nursing 3rd ed. 2016 by Oermann & Hays

DNP education, practice, and policy: redesigning advanced practice roles for the 21st (2013)

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research (2012)

** search the library catalog above for other titles **

STAT!Ref (CURRENT online medical /nursing diagnosis, care, & drug books; Stedman's & Taber's dictionaries. Incudes Perinatal Nursing [2014] & Olds' Maternal-Newborn Nursing & Women's Health - 2016)

See Library's APA guide for example of how to format reference entry for STAT!Ref material.

Anatomy TV - Database contains rotatable 3D models of the human body and anatomical layers which may be stripped away. Identification & other learning modules. Includes interactive head & neck, shoulder, hand, thorax & abdomen, spine, pelvis & perineum, hip, knee, and foot. Also included are common pathologies, impressive videos (animated & cadaver), radiological content, therapies, and interactive quizzes.
NOTE: Limited access--only 35 people among member libraries may access at the same time.
Also, 3D requires installing a viewer available on the site (FireFox or Internet Explorer only).

Other Nursing-related databases

ERIC � Education. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, etc.). Best source for School Nursing, Covers material published 1966-present.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (alternative, encyclopedias, videos, etc.) – Contains a variety of literature covering medicine, consumer health, nursing, wellness, and alternative therapies. 1980 to present.

Health Reference Center Academic - Journal articles, books, and other resources related to nursing, allied health, and personal health information. 1980 to present.

Looking for highly-credible web pages about medical topics?

Medical professionals use this search engine to find HONcode-certified web pages
(excludes government sites)

Also search the following highly-authoritative web sites:

Cleveland Clinic (authoritative web site)

Mayo Clinic (authoritative web site)

CDC (authoritative web site)

WHO (authoritative web site)

See Library's APA guide for example of how to format reference entry for web pages authored by

Mayo Clinic Staff, & CDC.

 

Health Statistics/Community Health/Epidemiology library guide

 

Need materials not held by the Library? [ NMU Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Policies ]


Click here to search & request books & videos (not articles) through MeLCat


Click here to request articles, & materials not available in MeLCat
(allow minimum of 14 days)

*NEW* Hospital Information & Statistics Sources


HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project
(extensive stats!)

American Hospital Directory (includes basic stats for hospital)

America's Best Hospitals (rankings)

Evidence-based Practice Resources

AHRQ National Guideline Clearinghouse ACE Star (tm) EBP (UTHSCSA) Other EBP Resources

Zotero (FireFox & Chrome free research management tool, with MS Word add-in)

NMU Resolver (under Advanced Settings):
http://zc9gn3am3j.search.serialssolutions.com/

 

Job Hunting & LIfe After Graduation Guide 

[future use] [future use] [future use]
 
 




Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours