Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 379: Modern African American Literature: Black Lives Matter
Professor Lesley Larkin

Library Resource Guide


Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 


Literary Criticism Sources

Library Catalog
When looking for literary criticism or biographical information in the library catalog, select the Library of Congress Subject Heading button and enter the author's name, last name first (ex. Stein, Gertrude).  Pay particular attention to the subheading Criticism and Interpretation (Stein, Gertrude - Criticism and Interpretation).

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to the and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. When searching for your particular work, change the drop-down menu on the search screen to "All Text (tx)" for best results.

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature.


Web Resources

Voice of the Shuttle: African-American Literature
African-American literature section of a comprehensive web resource about literature.

The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture
An exhibit highlighting the Library of Congress' resources. The sections on Migration and the WPA are of particular interest to this class.

BlackPast.org
A collection of archival links to Black history.

National Archives: Black History
The National Archives digital collection on Black history.


Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries

If our library doesn't have the books you need, you should then search MeLCat, the Michigan electronic Library Catalog. You can request items from over 400 public and academic libraries in the state of Michigan. You will usually receive items requested through MeLCat in about a week.

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation." Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.


MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB2369 .G53 2009.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

Zotero
Zotero is a free program which stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, allows you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the program at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well.


Need Further Assistance?

Contact Mollie Freier (or phone 227-1061). You may also stop by the Public Services Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2250.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours