Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Help from your Personal Embedded Librarian, Professor Mike Strahan
Office: LRC 233
phone: (906) 227-2463

Chat/Contact Mike @ the Library (when/how available?)

E-mail

APA Workshops available fall & winter semesters
(coordinated by Mike Strahan
)

Arranged in Fundamentals & Research lectures.

 

 

**NEW** All required Nursing textbooks now available on 2-hour Reserve in the Library. Check them out!

 

Check out professional videos through the Library's subscription to Films on Demand

 

APA Reference Style Tools (6th ed. 2010)

NMU Library APA References Examples & DOI tools

Other APA Tools:

APA Tips Checklist
APA Basic in-text Citation Styles
- Format APA Content in Presentation Slides
Captioning Tables and Figures
APA in-text citations (Diana Hacker & Barbara Fister)

 

Library Maps medicine & nursing in the R's; Psychology in the BF's

NMU Library Catalog (all print & online holdings, including thousands of e-books)

WorldCat (holdings of over 60,000 libraries)

Specialized Medical Encyclopedias (new to this guide)

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (2014)

Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health (2013)

Gale encyclopedia of public health (2013)

Anatomy TV - Database contains rotatable 3D models of the human body and anatomical layers which may be stripped away. Identification & other learning modules. Includes interactive head & neck, shoulder, hand, thorax & abdomen, spine, pelvis & perineum, hip, knee, and foot. Also included are common pathologies, impressive videos (animated & cadaver), radiological content, therapies, and interactive quizzes.
NOTE: Limited access--only 35 people among member libraries may access at the same time.
Also, 3D requires installing a viewer available on the site.


STAT!Ref (CURRENT online medical /nursing diagnosis, care, & drug books; Stedman's & Taber's dictionaries; NCLEX-RN podcasts, and treatment content)

See Library's APA guide for example of how to format reference entry for STAT!Ref material.

Searching Primary Nursing/Medical Databases (Do not bookmark database page!) 
(If you do not see full-text icon, always click  ) 
How to use Find It (video)

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text

THE database for researching all Nursing care topics (use also for finding care plans, patient ed. care pamphlets). 

For BEST results, avoid searching by keywords. Instead, always begin by searching topic in CINAHL Headings and apply subheadings.

PubMed (MEDLINE) (companion to CINAHL)

THE database for researching all medicine. Includes links to FREE articles, and NMU's . As NMU students & faculty, it is important you use the library's link to this database, not the direct URL to the free version.

For BEST results, avoid searching by keywords. Instead, always begin by searching topic in MeSH, then apply subheadings/qualifiers

Also restrict to MeSH Major topic.

NMU Library-created PubMed videos

How to Search using MeSH headings, and retrieve free/subscription online articles (5-minute video)

How to Create an NCBI account in PubMed (guide) -- Highly recommended to grad students & faculty

How to Search using MeSH, and Save a Search + initiate updates using an NCBI account (5-minute video)


Cochrane Library (THE resource for evidence-based health care research) - Reports, reviews, etc, on healthcare interventions. Provides evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.

Wiley-created tutorials on how to search Cochrane (7 minutes total)

 

Writing Psyc paper or looking for psychology aspects? Use PsycINFO , THE database for psychological aspects

of any topic.

Issues Course: CQ Researcher (highly-credible), extensive 20+ page reports.

Reference as online journal (no DOI).

Other Nursing-related databases

ERIC � Education. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, etc.). Best source for School Nurse, Covers material published 1966-present.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (alternative, encyclopedias, videos, etc.) – Contains a variety of literature covering medicine, consumer health, nursing, wellness, and alternative therapies. 1980 to present.

Health Reference Center Academic - Journal articles, books, and other resources related to nursing, allied health, and personal health information. 1980 to present.

Google Scholar (results arranged by most-cited)

ABI/INFORM Global (Business & hospital-related journals, dissertations & theses, books, & other resources published 1900-present)

WestLaw (Federal & State statutes, regulations, court decisions, & law journals online full-text)

Looking for highly-credible web pages about medical topics?

Medical professionals use this search engine to find HONcode-certified web pages
(excludes government sites)

Also search the following highly-authoritative web sites:

Cleveland Clinic (authoritative web site)

Mayo Clinic (authoritative web site)

CDC (authoritative web site)

WHO (authoritative web site)

See Library's APA guide for example of how to format reference entry for web pages authored by

Mayo Clinic Staff, & CDC.

 

Health Statistics/Community Health/Epidemiology library guide

 

Need materials not held by the Library? [ NMU Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Policies ]


Click here to search & request books & videos (not articles) through MeLCat


Click here to request articles, & materials not available in MeLCat
(allow minimum of 14 days)

*NEW* Hospital Information & Statistics Sources


HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project
(extensive stats!)

American Hospital Directory (includes basic stats for hospital)

America's Best Hospitals (rankings)

Evidence-based Practice Resources

AHRQ National Guideline Clearinghouse ACE Star (tm) EBP (UTHSCSA) Other EBP Resources

Zotero (FireFox & Chrome free research management tool, with MS Word add-in)

NMU Resolver (under Advanced Settings):
http://zc9gn3am3j.search.serialssolutions.com/

 

Other Nursing Library Guides:

UN 100 Career Resources Guide

Job Hunting & LIfe After Graduation Guide 

[future use] [future use] [future use]
 
 




Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours