Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


 

Resources in the Psychological Sciences

Many of you might not have NMU as an Internet service provider, that is, you are getting Internet through Charter or AT&Tother private carrier. NMU resources (databases, journals) are not available to you if that is the case. Using the LTE Network? You should have no trouble accessing NMU's resources. However, to otherwise get through or anthe firewall, you must be running the Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client. It is already installed on NMU laptops under the Cisco folder off the start menu, but is freely available from the HelpDesk, and starting it here. Mac user? Well, it's different for Mac.

Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.

Electronic Sources - Databases

PsycINFO
PsycINFO (department of the American Psychological Association (APA)) provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Updated weekly.

PsycARTICLES
A database of full-text articles in English from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. 1985 to the present. Updated daily.

ERIC:
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs..

Social Services Abstracts
Journal articles and other resources focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. 1979 to present. 

Sociological Abstracts
Journal articles, books, and other resources on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Subjects include demography, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, social psychology, human biology, women's studies, health, medicine, law, etc. 1952 to present; abstracts since 1974.

JSTOR
Complete, searchable, full text articles from over 2,100 core scholarly journals. 1878 to the most recent 1-5 years (varies by title).

EBSCO Open Dissertations
Database offering access to more than 800,000 free electronic theses and dissertations.

Google Scholar
Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. NMU is an institutional member but you will need to create an individual account in order to download datasets.

LGBT Life
LGBT Life contains full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books. The database also includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus.

PILOTS
Produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, and indexes journal articles, books, theses/dissertations, and other resources. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central brings together databases across major subject areas including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, and Philosophy. Also includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Access to more than 530 full-text journals. It has particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling. Brought to you by the Library of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (https://mel.org).

Locating E-Books

eBooks
Collections totalling more than 150,000 e-books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook. Downloading Adobe Digital will open up these resources to you.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

Interlibrary Loan Request Form

Before submitting request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., PsycInfo), and what you want doesn't appear to be full-text? Don't worry. Click on Get this for me [NMU Olson Library] and follow the directions if full-text does not appear.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials; request default is 30 days.

Internet Resources

A dictionary of animal behaviour
This dictionary covers every aspect of animal behavior and includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology. Clear, concise entries are backed up by specific examples where appropriate, covering all aspects of behavior from aggression to courtship. Jargon free and informative, this dictionary is an essential source of reference for students of biology, psychology, and zoology, as well as fascinating reading for all those interested in animal behavior.

American Psychological Association
The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States.

APA dictionary of psychology
A definitive reference with more than 25,000 authoritative entries from the American Psychological Association across 90 subfields of psychology. Includes browse and search features and word of the day.

Association for Psychological Science
The Association for Psychological Science (previously the American Psychological Society) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of scientific psychology and its representation at the national and international level.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition (DSM-5)
Published in May 2013 by the American Psychiatric Association, this classification and diagnostic tool is the authority in the United States for psychiatric diasnosis. NMU's premium subscription also includes access to the DSM-IV-TR and its Handbook of Differential Diagnosis as well as the Cases from DSM-IV-TR. A paper copy of the DSM-5 can also be found in the Olson Library Reference Collection (Call No. RC455.2.C4 D54).

Dictionary of Psychology
Contains clear and concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics.

Learning and Memory
Learning and Memory provides an overview of the full range of current knowledge about learning and memory. This edition features new articles and article updates that capture advances in the ever-changing fields of memory, neuroscience, and cognition. New entries include autobiographical memory, collective memory, deja vu, schizophrenia and memory, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Scholarly reference books across a variety of subjects.

Evaluating Internet Resources
Your topics will undoubtably have concerned individuals, interest groups, and organizations with their own web presence wanting to convince you one way or another on a subject. Give these resources a very critical look; be skeptical. In most cases these websites will link to other resources, and so on.

Citing

APA Style Guide with New 6th edition 2010 Formats How-to Videos
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed., 2010.
Consult the Manual in the Reference Collection, 3rd floor stacks, and Reserve (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

APA - Citing Tables & Figures

NMU's APA Tips & Checklist

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
A site from Cornell University with useful tips and examples of an annotated bibliography.

Zotero Installation and User Guide

Customizing Zotero Settings for NMU

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours