Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Help from your Personal Embedded Librarian, Professor Mike Strahan
Office: LRC 233
phone: (906) 227-2463

Chat/Contact Mike @ the Library (when/how available?)

E-mail

Library Maps All programs are in the R's
Please Register for Distance Library Services (DLS) - Students who live off-campus (that is, not living in campus housing), are enrolled in the ST program, and registered for ST course(s) are pre-qualified for DLS.
 

FINDING INSTRUCTIONAL VIDEOS

JoVE - *NEW* Library subscription

Search for specific surgical procedure. For example:

"laparoscopic surgery"

and: human

not: animal

For generic ST search, copy/paste these surgical terms:

surgery surgical presurgical preoperative perioperative intraoperative postoperative

 

 

Films on Demand library subscription - professional videos (highly credible)

Free surgical procedures videos

MEDLINEPlus Videos of Surgical Procedures (list w/links)

WebSurg (need to use FB or create account)

Free video search engines

PBS Videos - Use search box

Google Videos - Familiar search interface to broad spectrum of videos appearing on teachertube, youtube, etc.

Teachertube - Peer-reviewed broad spectrum of patient- and profession-oriented information.

 

 
 

Anatomy TV - Database contains rotatable 3D models of the human body and anatomical layers which may be gradually removed. Includes interactive head & neck, shoulder, hand, thorax & abdomen, spine, pelvis & perineum, hip, knee, and foot. Also included are common pathologies, radiological content, and interactive quizzes.
NOTES:
Resource under redesign, no longer requires plugin.

eBooks (online books)

U.S. National Library of Medicine: History of Medicine resources

Oxford Reference online books: A-Z of Plastic Surgery (2008)

STAT!Ref (Limit of 35 concurrent users among member libraries)
CURRENT online medical books & dictionaries) including:

AORN Guidelines for perioperative practice (2017)

Auscultation skills : breath & heart sounds (2014) [includes audio]

Greenfield's Surgery (6th ed. 2017)

Guide to Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests (2014)

Scientific American Surgery (current) (includes videos indicating instruments used)

Wound Management (2012)

ESSENTIAL EVIDENCE PLUS™ & AHFS DI® ESSENTIALS™ (American Hospital Formulary Service Drug Information)
In book outline, choose Essential Evidence Topics then select organ/disease/condition.
Entries include diagnosis, etiology, prevalence, etc.

When finished using STAT!Ref, it is critical that you click on logout button.

History of Surgery ebooks (highly-credible sources)

Vignettes on surgery, history and humanities (2005)

Dawn and Evolution of Cardiac Procedures: Research Avenues in Cardiac Surgery and Interventional Cardiology
(2013)
(great history on all areas of surgery)

History of Modern Cataract Surgery (1998)

Invasion of the Body : Revolutions in Surgery (2011)

Key Notes on Plastic Surgery (2014)

Making of the unborn patient: a social anatomy of fetal surgery (1998)

Ship's Surgeons of Dutch East India Company: Commerce and the Progress of Medicine
in the Eighteenth Century (2009)

Tools of Asclepius : Surgical Instruments in Greek and Roman Times (2015)

 

Also search NMU Library Catalog for thousands of others

PubMed (MEDLINE) - THE database for research topics in all CLS programs. Includes links to FREE articles, and NMU's .
As NMU students & faculty, it is important you use the library's
link to this database, not the direct URL.

For best results, search topic in MeSH, then select/apply subheadings/qualifiers. Not
sure which subheading to use? Click here to view subheadings w/definitions.

A few subject headings [MESH]: Gloves, Surgical; Perioperative; Protective Clothing; Robotics; Surgery

Note: people are not listed in MESH, but instead do keyword search on their first and last name, or name of
device/instrument they developed/invented.

subheadings/qualifiers (usually apply to disease or body part heading):

Surgery - Used for operative procedures on organs, regions, or tissues in the treatment of diseases, including tissue section by lasers. It excludes transplantation, for which "transplantation" is used.

Transplantation - Used with organs, tissues, or cells for transplantation from one site to another within the same subject, or from one subject to another of the same species or different species.

How to Search using MeSH headings, and retrieve free/subscription online articles (5-minute video)

How to Create an NCBI account in PubMed (guide) -- Highly recommended to grad students & faculty

How to Search using MeSH, and Save a Search + initiate updates using an NCBI account (5-minute video)

 

 

Looking for highly-credible web pages about surgical technology topics?

Medical professionals use this search engine to find HONcode-certified web pages
(excludes government sites)

Also search the following highly-authoritative web sites:

Cleveland Clinic (authoritative web site)

Mayo Clinic (authoritative web site)

CDC (authoritative web site)

WHO (authoritative web site)

See Library's APA guide for example of how to format reference entry for web pages authored by

Mayo Clinic Staff, & CDC.

National professional organizations

Association of Surgical Technologists


 

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text (companion to PubMed)

Cochrane Library (resource for evidence-based health care research)

Google Scholar (results arranged by most-cited)

 

NMU Library MLA Works Cited Examples Guide

APA Reference Style Tools (6th ed. 2010)

NMU Library APA References Examples & DOI tools

Other APA Tools:
APA Tips Checklist
APA Basic in-text Citation Styles
- Format APA Content in Presentation Slides
Captioning Tables and Figures
APA in-text citations (Diana Hacker & Barbara Fister)

 

Need materials not held by the Library? [ NMU Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Policies ]


Click here to search & request books & videos (not articles) through MeLCat


Click here to request articles, & materials not available in MeLCat
(allow minimum of 14 days)

Zotero (FireFox & Chrome free research management tool, & Word add-in)

NMU Resolver (under Advanced Settings):
http://zc9gn3am3j.search.serialssolutions.com/

 
 
[future use] [future use] [future use]
 
 




Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours